Top 3 Stormy Days (Notes from Under the Tatami Mats–74 … My Adventures in Japan)

in #japan6 years ago

I had to walk through raging rainstorms, blinding blizzards, or screaming typhoons.


Generally speaking, if you’re riding in a car, it will take much more than a thunderstorm or a snowstorm to stop your progress.

Such phenomena might inconvenience you, delay you, or maybe even give you a hint of danger. But usually, you will manage to get from point A to point B without too much strain or struggle.    (Image source)

Moving through weather

But in Japan, I rarely drove. Usually, I walked or cycled, and there were times when I had to walk or cycle through raging rainstorms, blinding blizzards, or screaming typhoons.

Moreover, there were times when I could not go and could not walk anywhere, simply because of the weather. As detailed above.   

Maybe my experience of these bad-weather days has something to do with the fact that Japan has much less of an automobile-oriented culture. The prime means of transport are walking, cycling, and public transportation.    

Whatever… I managed to keep moving, until I moved away.      (Image source)

   Introduction to – “Notes from Under the Tatami Mats”  (right-click on title)

Top 2 Great Weather Days
Top 3 Camps
Top 4 Onsen (Hot Springs)
... and more

Links to my Other Series …

      Introduction – "Intro to Vocab-ability"   (right-click on title)
      Guide – "Guide to Entries"   (right-click on title)
      Index– "Index" to all Chapters and Sections   (right-click on title)

      Lou Reed – "Anthology of Memorable Lyrics, Part 1"   (right-click on title)
      Lou Reed – "Anthology of Memorable Lyrics, Part 2"   (right-click on title)
Images sourced from Google Images, unless otherwise indicated or unless my own.

Sort:  

For me, having a car while living in Nagoya is a must. But when I lived in Kanagawa, I didn't have one cause I could get pretty much anywhere by train.

Ya, I ended up having a car for the final 5 years or so of my life in Japan (in Sendai), and that made life a bit more convenient. But I used my car only when I had to ( in order to get to out-of-the-way places), and to get out of the city every now and then.

However, most of the time, I'd continue to walk or cycle downtown or most other places in Sendai or the surrounding area. And at many other times, I could always jump on a train.

Very unlike my home country of Canada. There, everyone living outside the few major cities needs a car for everything from commuting to shopping.

Getting around in Japan was always easier and less expensive.

Hahaha... come to think of it @majes.tytyty, cycling if kinda good for your health!

Thank you for sharing your post.it is very inspiring.i feel like it’s a message to me telling me not to take so many Uber’s 😊 to start walking again and taking the bus.bottom line.the story is inspiring. Thank you for sharing it😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 57297.27
ETH 3101.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41