Top 3 Exceedingly Overused Japanese Words (Notes from Under the Tatami Mats–6 … My Adventures in Japan)

in #japan6 years ago (edited)

She never said much more than, “Sugoi,” “Sugoi,” “Sugoi,” “Sugoi.”


(That is, “Great!” “Great!” “Great!” “Great!”)

In the Japanese language, there are many unwritten rules about what to say at any given time and in any given situation.

Unwritten rules rule

For instance, there's an unwritten rule about what to say whenever you eat anything relatively tasty. (See #1 above, and try to guess the rule.)    

And there seems to be another rule for commenting when you are listening to someone and you have no idea how to respond. (See #3.)    

Quite honestly, I can distinctly recall an evening, years ago, when a salaryman friend of mine dragged me (willingly, I admit) to a hostess bar for our ni-ji-kai second party / drinking session. 

At such bars, the hostesses are supposed to simply sit there and provide pleasant, casual companionship to the male clients who come there to unwind after a tough day at the office. Those hostesses are expected not only to make conversation with the clients, but also to cue up the karaoke, pour our beer, and light our cigarettes.    (Image source)

Wow. Great. Amazing. Wow. Great. Amazing. Wow. … Ho hum.

On that particular night, the hostess sitting beside me was cute enough. (“Kawaii,” I thought. See Word #2).

But she severely lacked any conversation skills. For the hour or so that my friend and I sat in that bar, she never said much more than, “Sugoi,” “Sugoi,” “Sugoi,” “Sugoi.” Believe me, the “conversation” that she was supposed to facilitate never got very far.    

In most societies, the fact that she had so little to say would have been embarrassing. In Japan, however, she could cover for her lack of verbal dexterity by simply following the aforementioned unwritten rule #3. Which might be a good thing.   (Image source)

Hmmm. Sometimes, we’re as guilty as they are.

The interesting thing is that we expats also start to follow the above rules, at least to some degree. I will readily admit to using the above three words whenever appropriate, and sometimes even when insufficiently appropriate. And sometimes much too often. Honto.*   

* Honto = “Really.” Another overused Japanese word.

   Introduction to – “Notes from Under the Tatami Mats”  (right-click on title)

Top 5 Myths re Things Japanese
Top 3 Weird Excuses for Japanese Behavior
Top 4 Disorienting Aspects of the Japanese Language
Top 3 Disorienting Aspects of Living in Japan
... and more

Links to my Other Series …

      Introduction – "Intro to Vocab-ability"   (right-click on title)
      Guide – "Guide to Entries"   (right-click on title)
      Index– "Index" to all Chapters and Sections   (right-click on title)

      Lou Reed – "Anthology of Memorable Lyrics, Part 1"   (right-click on title)
      Lou Reed – "Anthology of Memorable Lyrics, Part 2"   (right-click on title)

Images sourced from Google Images, unless otherwise indicated or unless my own.

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the Steemit community! Thanks for the great post! @steemitcentral has upvoted your post. ALWAYS follow @Steemitcentral and use the steemitcentral tag to get some upvotes!
Also, kindly upvote @Steemitcentral posts to get future upvotes!
IMG-20180606-WA0005.jpg

Hi! How are you? I have been away busy with social life and trying to look for jobs. I am afraid my presence on steemit will not be too regular in the next future, until I don't find some stability.
I hope life is treating you well.
Salut from Cambodia!

Hey, I've been well. I hope you had some good travels, and that you are now getting settled in somewhere in Cambodia.

All the best as you do whatever you need to do.
Cheers!

Well to know sugoi" some of the japanese words its upgradation

Anata "Sugoi"...

Amazing great nice my friend and information share in life and notes for under and tatami information nice . thank

I think she was cute.that was enough for her to get the job and entertain guests.

I had read these sentences I can.
Some words are strange a lot for me.
But I'm trying.
Thanks for sharing.:-)

Sugoi Sugoi Sugoi Sugoi Sugoi. Hahahaha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63526.15
ETH 3387.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56