Top 2 Misspellings of My Name by Japanese People (Notes from Under the Tatami Mats–79 … My Adventures in Japan)

in #japan5 years ago

Spelling words or names in a foreign language is a lot tougher than you might think.

Those above misspellings are weird. Very weird.  

Mistakes are inevitable

But taken in perspective, these mistakes are understandable.

Have you ever tried to spell the words of a foreign language correctly? As many of you know, it’s a lot tougher than you think.       (Image source)

Even once you’ve become proficient in a second language, you’ll inevitably make mistakes that you won’t be able to catch. In fact, when writing my name or address in Japanese script, I myself did so incorrectly, numerous times. 

Hell, I make mistakes even in my native language. Comb through my Steemit blog, and you’ll probably find a few errors.

Mistakes are unjustifiable

But the above misspellings are particularly egregious. 

Whatever. At least they are interesting.             (Image source)

Contest ...

What’s the real spelling of my name? From the above “Gayln”  and "Jeemos," determine the actual spelling of my name. The first 10 who get it correct will get a 20% upvote.   

Rule – Your comment / entry must begin with the words “Correct Spelling.”

   Introduction to – “Notes from Under the Tatami Mats”  (right-click on title)

Top 6 Nicknames for Yours Truly
Top 3 Meanings of “Koorin” When Written in Kanji
Top 3 Cool-Sounding Girl’s Names
... and more

Links to my Other Series …

      Introduction – "Intro to Vocab-ability"   (right-click on title)
      Guide – "Guide to Entries"   (right-click on title)
      Index– "Index" to all Chapters and Sections   (right-click on title)

      Lou Reed – "Anthology of Memorable Lyrics, Part 1"   (right-click on title)
      Lou Reed – "Anthology of Memorable Lyrics, Part 2"   (right-click on title)

Images sourced from Google Images, unless otherwise indicated or unless my own.

Sort:  

I laughed really hard reading the misspellings of your name. It's really far from what it is. One of the misspelled name is James. I will leave the rest for other contestants.

Since nobody else bothered to reply to the mini contest, you got a 40% upvote. Thanks for participating!!!!!!!!!!!

Wow. That's amazing. I really appreciate this. Thanks.

I never tried simply ask to write it down and I do the same if it comes to my name. It is already bad enough if people in my own country are too stupid to write it down well if I spell it 3 times

Posted using Partiko Android

Right. Sometimes it's an honest mistake, but many other times, it's just carelessness. Or, as you say, stupidity.

@majes.tytyty you made a bid of 50 steem i.e. 15 USD and should get minimum 22.5 USD in order to avoid loss or make a profit. But you got 16 USD vote which is a 25% loss on investment minimum.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59367.33
ETH 3172.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43