Top 1,000 Worst J-Pop Bands (Notes from Under the Tatami Mats–63 … My Adventures in Japan)

in #japan6 years ago (edited)

I don’t wanna promote any of the banal crap. Or torture you with it.

Like banal and clichéd pop bands everywhere, these Japanese boy bands were so embarrassingly awful that they were almost interesting.

Well, "almost interesting" in very minor doses, that is.   (Image source)

Gaga? Gag!

But inevitably, their fans loved them. And they had large and incomprehensibly broad fan bases.

In fact, one of my colleagues – a mature, 20-something, foreign-educated, English-speaking woman – was gaga over the horribly untalented boy-group SMAP. I could never figure out why.      (Image source) I was gonna include some links to songs by the above bands. But I do not wanna promote any of it. Nor do I wanna subject you to the torture of hearing the banal crap.

(And as you can see, I even refused to include any images of those pop stars. You're welcome.)

   Introduction to – “Notes from Under the Tatami Mats”  (right-click on title)

Top 5 Pop Artists
Top 5 Pop Songs
Top 4 Over-Sung, Over-Rated, and Over-Rotated (in Japan) '70s Pop Songs
... and more

Links to my Other Series …

      Introduction – "Intro to Vocab-ability"   (right-click on title)
      Guide – "Guide to Entries"   (right-click on title)
      Index– "Index" to all Chapters and Sections   (right-click on title)

      Lou Reed – "Anthology of Memorable Lyrics, Part 1"   (right-click on title)
      Lou Reed – "Anthology of Memorable Lyrics, Part 2"   (right-click on title)

Images sourced from Google Images, unless otherwise indicated or unless my own.
Sort:  

But inevitably, their fans loved them. And they had large and incomprehensibly broad fan bases.
In fact, one of my colleagues – a mature, 20-something, foreign-educated, English-speaking woman – was gaga over the horribly untalented boy-group SMAP. I could never figure out why

Lol

Maybe the problem was with you. Like Jay Z said

Fuck wrong with everybody?" is what you sayin' But if everybody's crazy, you're the one that's insane

I'm just kidding. I hope you didn't take offense at that.

Do I want to listen to the band myself and find out? Nah. I'll take your word for it

Blessings

PS: thanks for sparing us #998-#2

No offence taken. In fact, I might just be a bit crazy.

Hi @majes.tytyty

I've seem this post in several places over the last hours and it makes me laugh each time! I'm always on the hunt for short exercise videos and with my location, I frequently get a whole mess of these songs in my search results.

They are usually very painful on the eardrums, but as you point out - people love them. I am not even seeing the groups, but often there will be some type of tribute in the middle of the workout. It's entertaining in small doses.

So I am here to ask for your vote in another qurator contest and your 1% vote might make me a winner!
https://steemit.com/qurator/@qurator/qurator-s-toss-up-thursday-18-free-for-all-promotion-competition#@fitinfun/re-qurator-qurator-s-toss-up-thursday-18-free-for-all-promotion-competition-20181106t053436442z

Thank you for your recent comment about @bxlphabet's last entry. I really appreciate your support at all times. I fell off the turnip truck for my last trip, so I sure know how that goes!

Did you know I am also Canadian? I have not been back in years and am not likely to go anytime soon. I lived in the Toronto area all over and north of there as well as some time out west. It is all a blur of COLD to me now.

And on another topic - how does the 15 minute rule change the bot operation? I do not use them until 2-3 days out so it helps my real voters, so I do not get what the problem is.

If you are interested in my Singapore trip, I'm posting it on @bxlphabet's blog for the most part. It was not at all what I expected and I will definitely make the same trip in 90 days. I liked it for the Visa trip, but I do not think I would want to live there.

And finally - you might try downloading the esteem app and posting one post a day there. Also try using busy dot org once a day. They are not big by your standards, but I get good votes from both.

Thank you again for everything and I hope you do not have any boy band songs stuck in your head!

Hi, FnF

Glad you DIS-like the post. :-) I've done my best to blot out any and all boy-band tunes.

I went to that link, and upvoted your comment. Hope that's what you wanted, cuz I already auto-voted your post, right?

I did not realize that you were Canuck. Born and bred there? I was born in the Niagara Peninsula, about an hour directly west of the Falls. I lived in Toronto for a few years after uni, and then a few more years after I returned from Japan. I doubt that I'll ever return there to live ... even tho Canada is in many ways a great country.

I can tolerate the cold, but see no reason to tolerate it, when I can bask in year-round warm temps here in SE Asia.

The new rules change the bot ops only for those who bid for upvotes during the first 30 minutes after the post was made. That was the lucrative time frame in which to get upvotes. Now, that's been reduced to 15 minutes ...

But many of the bots will NOT vote until after 15 mins. From what I've heard, they do that so that they can rake in most of the rewards.

I do not understand much of the new rules or new workings, so I'm managing to bid for only small upvotes now. That might continue, if I don't learn more, and if the previous opportunity for large lucrative upvotes is gone forever (as it seems to be).

I've heard about esteem and busy.org, but have not learned much about them. Someday soon, I'll hafta sit down and study a bit. Thanks for the reminder, cuz I've heard from various people who advised me to get with it and exploit those platforms.

Enjoy Singapore. I always did, but i was earning a decent salary then. Without income, Singapore is toooo expensive to live in.

Cheers!

You got a 37.22% upvote from @booster courtesy of @majes.tytyty!

NEW FEATURE:

You can earn a passive income from our service by delegating your stake in SteemPower to @booster. We'll be sharing 100% Liquid tokens automatically between all our delegators every time a wallet has accumulated 1K STEEM or SBD.
Quick Delegation: 1000| 2500 | 5000 | 10000 | 20000 | 50000

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59239.68
ETH 2525.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50