You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: This Is Japan

in #japan7 years ago

Not only that, but the driver’s passengers will also face a hefty fine and possible jail time, as will the people who work at the establishment that poured the driver’s drinks

How often does that really happen?

Sort:  

I don't know. I'm not sure how I could even research that information. I know a couple people who have been caught driving drunk here and have paid the 1,000,000 yen fine, and I have seen stories on the news where izakaya owners, or maybe the employees, have been arrested after drunk driving fatalities have occurred. I don't know the details, though.

I'll dig around and see if I can find any data. My feeling, though, is that with DWI, things are pretty black and white.

I know those stories, too, but I guess those are just examples of when the law enforcement wants to do an example.

Laws are only applied and enforced the way that people just to apply and enforce them. Still, the chance that you, as a passenger, could be held accountable for someone else's drunk driving is real here. In the States, I never thought much about this. I do in Japan, though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58391.36
ETH 2348.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36