You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Day It All Changed

in #japan5 years ago

When I read the first line, I thought you were writing about yourself, until I read on. Then I recognized the story, since you had posted a translation before. I found this version to be more gripping in a way, like someone was telling me a story instead of me reading one. I really like this version!

Sort:  

Thanks for the feedback. I’m glad you liked it.

Considering writing a book of folktales has me trying to answer the question of why? and what for?

It’s already been done, and while I think a lot of the Japanese folktales that have been translated into English would benefit from being updated, I don’t know that it’s necessary.

I think it might be more interesting, and perhaps more valuable to readers who aren’t children to repackage these stories into a type of short story format.

I’m not sure though.

I have enjoyed the last two “short story” versions myself.

I appreciate your input!

I’m not sure where I’m going with these stories, but I keep finding that when I go back and read the typical folk tale pieces I’m not satisfied with them. Maybe this approach will work for me. Or, maybe this is just my way of building up to creating my own stories. We’ll see.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66394.28
ETH 3309.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70