They waited for me!! | My yearly tradition during Spring season

in #japan6 years ago (edited)

Spring has finally arrived!

Goodbye cold winter and heavy clothes!!


IMG_2194.JPG

As much as I love the cool weather, I am nothing but glad that the loooooooong winter has ended and I have overcome my third winter in Japan.
Now, spring is here and so is my favorite part of it, SAKURA (Cherry Blossoms).

The spring season is one of the busiest time for Japan. For one, as warmth replace the cold weather, the economic and school year starts. The streets are buzzling with new members of the society and students moving up to higher education. But most importantly, it is engraved in the Japanese culture to look at these flowers when they bloom. Hence the "Hanami" or "flower viewing" tradition.

But before the rush comes into their new life, people would flock to parks, bring out their picnics and laze all day in the sun, under the swaying cherry blossoms. It's especially crowded during this time since it's the spring vacation for some kids, so it's a family day out! And you add in the flock of foreign tourist who are very attracted to these flowers and come all the way to Japan during the Sakura festival season. Imagine the crowd!
And I'm one of them. Even before I came to Japan, I've always admired Sakura. Because I've never seen such a thing; A pink colored tree! And it bears flowers before it bears leaves! Isn't that amazing?

Sakura festivals are small festivals the community within the parks and venues with a lot of Sakura trees open to celebrate the blooming of Sakura. While they have Sakura festivals everywhere in Japan, there are specific areas where Sakura are famous for.

IMG_2200.JPG

One of them is the Meguro River Sakura Festival, my favorite place! I tried to do "sakura festival hopping" to major Sakura spots but I.....can't take the crowd. I am weak. LOL. Most of these spots are parks, which I have mentioned above, where people stay there and gaze at the flowers all day.

But Meguro River is different. Meguro district is situated on the central west of Tokyo, also known as the socialites' district since most Japanese celebrities reside in area and within that is a 2.2 kilometer long river lined with 800 Sakura trees and half of it is lit up during the evening from around 5 PM to 9 PM (Source). I figured, aside from the stalls that sell dumplings, rice cakes and pink shampange/sparling wine, there is not much space for people to stay so long within the Meguro River area. People are constantly moving so it's not as crowded as parks would be. Yeah, you would constantly bump on another person's shoulder and wait in line to take a picture at the perfect spot but that's just it! I can wait for a few seconds.

IMG_2150.JPG


IMG_2163.JPG

Oh! Did I mention that they get lit up at night? It's so awesome that the flush pink, almost white Sakura turn into bright pink during the night! Thanks to the red lanterns that line together with the Sakura tree. It's so mesmerizing.

IMG_2216.JPG


IMG_2229.JPG

The first time I went to this place, I thought, I'll just roam around, take a few pictures and leave when it gets dark, but when it did, I was a fool for thinking such thing. I felt like I got teleported to somewhere magical. Disneyland and Universal Studios were not a match!

IMG_2231.JPG

My anime dreams came true right before my eyes. And when the wind blows, the Sakura dance with it oh, so gracefully! It's like the world slowed down for a bit and I can almost feel like a shampoo commercial actress swaying her hair slow-mo. How I wished I wore a gown; I would feel like a princess, LOL.

Coming to Meguro River Sakura Festival completed my spring season. I have been itching for days to go there but I just didn't get to until today. I was scared that when I did get the time to visit, I won't be seeing the pink flowers. But they waited for me, in their full bloom. When I saw them from a far, tears pooled from my eyes. It feels like I'm reuniting with someone familiar. I almost hugged a tree, if only nobody was watching. My inner high school girl is very happy.


IMG_2189.JPG

As I have heard in the news, the reason Sakura has short lifespan because it sleeps when the weather gets warmer and warmer and wakes up when it gets cold. For short, it sleeps throughout summer and wakes up slowly but surely in the winter. So, when it suddenly gets too warm in the spring , you gotta make sure you go out and see those flowers or else, you'll have to wait the next time it blooms again.

I'll let you in a little secret about me, I hate the color pink, with a passion. No offense to the people who love them. Yes, Sakura has a hint of pink in it and you can call me a hypocrite but I just can't hate on the flower.

Sakura has gone by but they waited for me. I feel so honored. Spring brought warmth for the body but Sakura, especially in Meguro River, brought warmth to my soul. I'm not sure if I was able to describe clearly my own feelings towards this pink flower but to put it simply, it's so magical. I really recommend coming to my magical place and you will know exactly what I'm telling you. I'll be sure to see them again, at the same "time", at the same place.

IMG_2292.JPG

"Flower-like clouds, hanging up the sky ― cherry blossoms"



Check out this AMAZING pipz
@jacinta.sevilla
@fukumineko
@noellesevilla
@ishanvirtue
@mermaidvampire
@surpassinggoogle

Member of
@steemitachievers
@steemartists

Artistic vessel of @furirin

SNGHE5525.JPG



Thanks for stopping by.

See you on my next post.

giphy.gif

@korinkrafting

SA footer.png

korinkrafting_footer.png

Sort:  

I am commenting because I saw your bangs and it made my day. LOL Ahahahahahahaha! Just kidding. You take awesome pics, the sakura got justice in all of them. Cheers!

The bangs... lol
I’m everything mediocre but thanks for the complement.

She bangs! She bangs o baby she got bangs too. Hahahaha welcome to the club. Hahahahab

Bruh, you got bangs, too? LOL

yes i have it before do you want to see mah bangs ?

Yes, biish, yaaas!

IMG_20180413_180433.jpg

Here's my bangs biiich valedictorian hahahaha

ahhahah no that was my rakista days not the emo days. at least i have bangs! HAHAHHAA,

Bruh, looks emo coz you look like an emoji. LOL *peace

Bruh, if this is 2010s and you have bangs, you's a emo, bruh LOL

Biiiiiiish!! This is emo!!!!

@ishanvirtue para kang F4 na nakidnap jan

Hahaha,,,i remember the day....

Congrats Korin! The pictures leave me breathless. huhuhu.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by korinkrafting from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Wow awesome spring season photography amazing photography!

Wow! It's AMAZING!

When I saw what your post was about, I instantly opened a new tab to play さくらさくら/Sakura Sakura in the background 🏮

This post has so much beauty and warmth. Thanks for sharing. And cheers to that anime dream moment :)

Omg! Nice idea!! I should read this again with a music in the background!! Thanks!!!

Do it, it's a total experience haha. With your post and the music, I've been transported to the Meguro-gawa lol.

Sigh. That's some really beatufiul experience. If Steem shoots up to the moon, I'll definitely visit Japan :) Also, I'll have you sign an autograph by then hehe

I’ll give you a tour around Tokyo if you come here XD

Tanoshimishiteimasu~. I'll def hold you to that haha. Thanks!
I'll bring PH omiyage if that time comes.

Wow! Missing Nihon! Sakuraaaaaa!
We have Sakura here but people don't care about it, coz they want to feel the atmosphere in Sakura Japan lol!

Btw congrats for the curie!

Come back!!!
hahahaha
You're prize will definitely smell like Japan.
Thank you :D

I’ve always been into Japanese culture etc. Mainly because of the samurai. And want to travel there someday! Awesome photos btw! And interesting stuff about the Sakura. Growing up we had a blossoming cherry tree in the front yard and fruiting cherry tree in the backyard until the neighbor cut down the fruiting tree’s mate.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Pink is life hehe, congrats for the curie!

Not for me but thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60699.39
ETH 2655.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59