SPOTTED #52: The rarest Japanese Banknote

in #japan7 years ago

2000Yen Banknote

Most people will never see this Banknote in their lifes. I had one in 2008 but did buy something with it, so I was really surprised when my friend showed me the 2000 Yen Notes. He didn't realize how rare these are. Even Japanese don't know of the existence of this Banknote. The Banknote was issued for the G8 Summit and the year 2000.

Super Rare Banknote

2017-05-11 12.27.34


2017-05-11 12.28.01

I happily gave my friend a 10.000yen note and exchanged this rare banknotes with him. These will never be spend and I will wait for them to be worth a Million in 30-40 years ;). Did you know that there is a USD pendant to this note? The US has a very rare 2 USD Banknote too. I have one of these too and the 2000 Yen and the 2 USD Notes will make a good couple.


Do you know any other rare Banknotes ???

I am blogging about the following topics :

I travel the world (Travel and Restaurant Blog)
Exposed (Uncovering Stories you need to know)
Lifehacks (How to save money,etc) 
SPOTTED (Limited Edition Food, Drinks, Gadgets)
Steemperlen (German Version, Series Ended)
SQUEEZE (Interview Series) 
COOKED (10 Episodes Cooking Series)
Working anytime, anywhere (New series for freelancers)
Frequent Traveller (New series about Travel Hacks and FFPs) 
HEAVEN (NEW Luxury Travel Magazine)
FARM
German Sausages
GADGET

ABOUT ME: Some insides into my Steemit life

Sort:  

Wow @knozaki2015 what a crazy find! interesting note exchange lol, I wonder what its worth will be in future.

hopefully millions ;)

I've been to Japan five times over the last six years and every time I take currency in the form of cash. As my bank allows choice of 'high', 'low' or 'mixed' denominations, the last time I asked for 'low' and they gave me a HEAP of 2000 yen notes.
It was amazing to see the surprised expressions and responses from Japanese staff and business owners as I whipped out a small wad of these 'rare' notes to pay for goods and services!
Kind of feels good to repatriate these notes with their mother country.

I think rare banknote will be 1000 note because i deal every time in my bank e 10,000 banknote and not seen any little currency note yet.

no the rarest I just found out is a 500 yen note. I had one of these as a kid but lost it..

The 2 dollar bill isnt very rare actually. As of April 30, 2007 it is said that there were about $1,549,052,714 worth of these $2 bills (USD) in circulation worldwide.

well, I never see any in the us . do you?

Yes we do, not everyday though. But a lot of people hold onto it. My family does. I used to

I thought you were gonna say "there were about $1,549,052,714 . I bet you didn't read the numbers. You went back to look..."and blablabla bla. Haha

Thats a lot of them. But i think so many people horde them that its not common to see them. I had a few from my Grandma once, they were stolen. Not because of them but they were in my wallet. Also 2007 was 10 years ago. Do not know how many are available now but 750 or so million of them seems like a lot. But i guess it is really not that many if you think about it.

That's cool to come across such a rare thing like that 2000 yen note, never heard of it myself, but am not familiar with Japanese money either. I tell you what bro, whenever we finally meet up somewhere, I'll have a $2USD bill for you to add to your collection! :)

Y2K notes gone with the Y2K bug.

Congratulations @knozaki2015! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

It's not a note but I can remember some Pfennig coins from the times of Deutsche Mark. There were some 1, 2 and 5 Pfennig around, which were produced in 1948 and 1949. They looked the same like the newer ones but on the back was written "Bank Deutscher Länder" instead of "Bundesrepublik Deutschland". They were quite rare in the last years of DM and most people didn't realized they have them because they looked same like the newer ones except for this writing. I think somewhere I still have some of those.

Wow amazing..
I love the $2 your collection.

Cool! With these banknotes denominations (in thousands or tens of thousand!) probably majority of Japanese people are millionaires? :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04