Today’s Adventure: Eating Seaweed from the Sea, and the First Swim of the Season

in #japan6 years ago (edited)

4D9410CC-617F-4482-857E-EAECB0AC1ECD.jpeg

6FB90C8D-2FB0-421E-B606-FE08D5063386.jpeg


Well, all the necessary ingredients were present: a nice, sunny day, the Sea of Japan, and some free time!


8386641C-83C0-467E-A931-722A9E0DE074.jpeg


My son and I hit one of our favorite small beaches, and jumped in for the first time this year! The water was a bit chilly yet, but it wasn’t so bad, once you got used to it, and the radiant sun and hot sand helped us to stay warm.

Just off the tetrapods, massive clusters of wakame, an edible seaweed often used in salads and soups, such as miso soup, had formed! I sampled a bit nama style (raw) straight from the sea! Check it out:

I set some out on the rocks to dry, before putting it in a plastic baggie to take home to my wife!

8F43F423-01D3-4E88-9F97-D6496FF99C22.jpeg

Let’s jump in!


Now, if you wanna see the shittiest “dive” ever, as a pale, beached-since-last-winter, “Dad-bod-whale” jumps back into the sea, you can check it here! The “baby whale” is quite agile and fit, however!


A0905E0C-F440-4FB2-B024-4F41B6EE2469.jpeg


8EECA3F6-5C6F-4B37-BCE2-3B273CF2B2EA.jpeg


We had a great time today! Now it’s time for some rest and a cold beer! Thanks for stopping by!

~KafkA

!


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as DLive and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

oh this is so cute, the boy is the sweetest ever! lovely pictures, nice place and looks like he had so much fun 👍🏻 have a lovely day, greetings!

Thank you so much. You too!!!

Thanks, I went to japan last november and it was the best experience ever, amazing food and the kindest people of all, really wanna go back! wishing you and your family an awesome summer!

  • I just followed you 😊😊

Wow there is alot fun and enjoyment is going on the ingredients are very precious..cheers.

I never been to the sea of Japan and there is a big chance that I will never go there but I find it great that I can see pictures and even a little movie of this! Thanks for sharing and it is clear that your boy is enjoying it very much!

Wow..I didn't know you could eat seaweed raw, great to see. You guys had a really fun day swimming in the sea. The pictures and video look amazing :)

Thanks, Eric. I'm not sure you're supposed to eat it raw, but this particular type is very healthy, and I figured the sea was salty enough to kill any germs. Haha. Thanks for reading and commenting!

How was that fresh seaweed? If it was in the video I'll have to try to remember to come back to it as I'm stuck out and about at the moment. Yay for fun at the beach!

goatsig

Yep, I sampled it in the video. Thanks!

what an amazing place this is!! just speechless
most welcome :

Your boy looks very happy :D Nice to see the family being together and enjoying. God bless you.

Thank you. @rinki. God bless you as well!

What is a temperature of the sea water now in Japan?

Good question. Here in Niigata it's still a little chilly. Not super freezing cold, though. I'm not sure of the exact temp... Maybe around 15 - 20 degrees Celsius?

My local Black sea a little bit warmer - around 18-21 degrees and I'm still waiting with a sea season opening

You got a 10.39% upvote from @upme thanks to @kafkanarchy84! Send at least 3 SBD or 3 STEEM to get upvote for next round. Delegate STEEM POWER and start earning 100% daily payouts ( no commission ).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59367.33
ETH 3172.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43