Life is to be lived: Heading to Hadaka Matsuri ("Naked Festival") for my birthday!

in #japan6 years ago

FEBRUARY IN NIIGATA REQUIRES A NAKED FESTIVAL.

Sociologically, the festival reveals a great deal about the local conditions and history. The participants from the neighboring towns are basically farmhands and working class males, who are forced to suddenly live somewhat sedentary lives while Niigata goes dormant during its snowbound winter...with the Festival offering a very much needed release of physical tension and resentment. It is said that whatever happens in the Festival is forgiven at the end with no repercussions. Historically, this probably gave males the opportunity to vent some physical aggression against others in their small farming village, without earning the disrespect of their neighbors.

What better way to celebrate a birthday than stripping down to your (near) birthday suit, taking a sip of saké, then running half a kilometer in the snow

to a shrine where you mosh about with a bunch of other half naked guys trying to catch good luck chips from the god of victory in battle and fertility?

I can think of no better way. This year (this weekend, to be exact) thanks to the inspiration and encouragement of a friend, I will be participating in a local hadaka matsuri for the first time in my life! What better way to celebrate turning 34 and another year of this crazy-ass life here in Japan??

How does it work?

Basically, as I understand the history/procedure of the particular festival I will be attending, attendant dudes/pilgrims:


  • Put on a fundoshi (Japanese loin cloth)
  • Take a ceremonial sip of nihonshu ("saké")
  • Run through the snow outside for about half a kilomoter
  • Jump in a cold pool of water
  • Fight and mosh around to get to the front of the temple/altar to touch a holy man/receive wooden "good luck chips"
  • Return blessed with victory for battle, fertility, and the local village rid of evil bullshit spirits.

And that is my basic understanding of the event at this point.

The original hadaka matsuri was in Okayama, if I am not mistaken, and there are many versions of the event around the country. The one we (a few friends and I) will be going to here in Niigata, however, is the only one I know of in February! It's also kind of in the mountains/middle of nowhere!

Let's get it! I'll definitely be doing a follow-up post about the experience here on Steem, so stay tuned!



Sources:
Opening quote: http://www.monkeyland.co.za/naked-festival---japan_article_op_view_id_1234
Photos (unless otherwise noted): http://tochiokankou.jp/matsuri/hadaka.html

~KafkA




!


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as DTube and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

What better way to celebrate a birthday than stripping down to your (near) birthday suit, taking a sip of saké, then running half a kilometer in the snow
to a shrine where you mosh about with a bunch of other half naked guys trying to catch good luck chips from the god of victory in battle and fertility?

Sounds like a regular Friday night round here mate 😂

Seriously though, that sounds like tons of fun. Living in Asia exposes you to the most fantastic traditions and ceremonies. I have witnessed many through the years in India, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Thailand etc.
Sadly my time was short in Japan and was never around off this one. I can't wait to see the post with your involvement Graham.
Have a great time, looking forward to the pictures! 😃

Hahaha!On the birthday this festival is very good!

ね〜!!!

Enjoy it to the Max. And bring home the "trophy" son ;)

Happy Birthday, may the force always be on your side!!

Can't wait to hear how it goes. Why Not? Happy birthday!! yours is right before mine.

Oh yeah? Cool! What day are you? I feel like I knew this somehow...

An scare owl tep me eye.subbutton.jpg
Many many happy returns of the day, #Happy #Birthday #Boss.

I bet they have more than one sip of sake.

This festival is on the same day with your birthday,you are very lucky.

AMAZING!

I love weird cultural traditions. Humans are funny and awesome, aren't they? Soak it up and don't freeze your toes off!

(Btw, this reminds me of a scene sequence from Pom Poko, where the raccoons took part in a local festival of some sort, but I don't think it was a Naked Festival.)

Happy birthday!

Sounds like it will be a pretty good time, probably pretty cold by the end though!
Hey I am wondering how you were able to write text next to the pictures? I have seen this on a few high level Steemit posters and I cannot find it in any markdown guides. Great post btw followed

Lol, the naked festival? Japan has some pretty strange festivals. Ever go to the penis festival? Lived there for like 6 years but always missed out on the strange ones. Thanks for sharing! Curious to hear how that goes :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64540.89
ETH 3166.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58