Japan Photo Blog, Vol. 67 - Out for a Round of Friendship and Spirits, Niigata Style

in #japan7 years ago (edited)

IMG_5494.jpg
My friend Keitarou makes his selection from the bevy of Nihonshu machines.


saké, "alcohol."


Niigata City is famous for a few things, among which are rice, nature, sushi, and nihonshu. "Nihonshu" is the Japanese name for what most people in western countries call "sak-ee." In Japan the word is not pronounced "sak-ee," but saké, and saké simply means "alcohol" in Japanese, or "spirits."

If you are looking to sample the numerous brands of nihonshu made in Niigata Prefecture, there's a fantastic little placed nestled inside Niigata station that will be right up your alley.

Just pay 500 yen (about 5 USD), received your five gold coins, and then choose your poison from a bevy of around 70 different small taps that dispense of the delightful rice wine. The flavors and impressions are myriad, ranging from bubble-gum sweet to almost pine-y, and it's almost hard to believe that this huge variety of saké is brewed right here in Niigata.

Let's go!


IMG_5498.jpg
Coins in hand. Cup in hand. Ready to go.


IMG_5495.jpg
A selection of salts from various regions to help you chase your drink.


Here's a video of one of the dispensers in action. This DHC was a nice, pine-y variety.



Back to the pics:


IMG_5491.jpg
The Saturday night crowd enjoying some fine saké sampling.


IMG_5502.jpg
When you're all done, and ready to turn in, or head to the next spot, just put your empty saké cup here, say "sayounara," and be on your way!

That's it! Kanpai!

~*~

(Thanks for stopping by. If you missed the last installment of Japan Photo Blog, Vol. 66: "Making Teenage Faces, Heading Out for Sushi, Enjoying Legos and Pop-Tarts," you can find that HERE.)

~KafkA

!


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

Kaf,I'm sipping on some French Vanilla coffee here at Starbucks in Miami
Fla. I just saw your video on Youtube or Censorship Tube as I call it and here I am following you!! I look forward to being apart of this wonderful international Steemit community!!

Excellent. Welcome! And thanks!

Oh holy cow, I've seen these Saki vendor machines... any one for about $1 :)

still haven't had the honour to try saki, I think I will with my next visit to Asia. Should try to find a Japanese restaurant in Thailand perhaps, didn't really cross my mind to drink some in Thailand.

sake cheers my friend !

こんにちは @kafkanarchy84

Haha, this re-activated souvenirs of my Life in Japan. I lived for a couple of years in the 'Sake town' of Hiroshima prefecture, in Saijo (next to the Higashi Hiroshima shinkansen stop).

I even had some local friends at one of the main breweries, and that was a very cool thing ;-)!

かんぱい to you!

かんぱい〜!

Nice post. I remember having tried sake many years ago when I lived in Japan but I didn't remember there were so many flavors.

nice post, well i don't like alcohol and also don't like to give a comment on it because my religious understanding is different, but i like those tiny tony cups & different varieties of salts wow they are looking so beautiful and also like the way they are managing this with the help of machines, just put in a coins and get your thing, no need of waiters, this is a great benefit of technology and it also saves a lot of time, Stay awesome my friend and thanks for sharing

May be I can guess now"why ,you and other resident of "Nigata"is all time energetic and enthusiastic, because the spirit of "Sake"....right??I like the word"sayounara"...but don't know the real meaning... Anyway thanks for sharing your happy moments with us...

May be I can guess now"why ,you and other resident of "Nigata"is all time energetic and enthusiastic, because the spirit of "Sake"....right??

Haha. No, I just had a headache the next day :) :)

Ha Ha Ha... So... Funny...

Ha Ha Ha... So... Funny...

"Sayounara" means "goodbye."

Nice to know it... Thanks

Hi friend, Nigata city is known from @kafkanarchy, awesome drinks but I don't know the taste of it as I am a non drinking person. So sayonara to you my dear friend, enjoy your time.

what does it taste like i wonder, the saké? never tried it myself lol

It's fairly sweet. Pretty clean tasting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60701.29
ETH 2637.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52