Japan Photo Blog, Vol. 47: Be the Demon Dog Who Stands Out (Sado Island cont.)

in #japan7 years ago (edited)

狛犬

Koma-inu - guardian lion dogs at a Shinto shrine.


Sado Island is a neat place. Today, though the weather was not prime, we wound our way down to the southern tip of the island, and found some interesting things along the way.


IMG_2606.JPG
This koma-inu at a shop along the coast killed me. I love it. Hence the title of this blog post.

IMG_2632.JPG
A map of Sado.

IMG_2615.JPG
Chilling out along the rocky coasts.

IMG_2614.JPG
Some really neat rock formations.

IMG_2627.JPG
Folks riding in the traditional "Tarai-bune," or "bathtub boats" of Sado. I love the traditional clothing worn by the women maneuvering the boats.

IMG_2629.JPG
My son giving it a go. He wanted to drive the whole time and was pretty upset when he wasn't allowed to.

IMG_2631.JPG
"Ika-tonbi." Not just squid. But grilled squid LIPS. Tasty!


(Thanks for stopping by. If you missed the last installment of Japan Photo Blog, "Staying at a "Minshuku" on Sado Island," you can find it here.)

~KafkA

IMG_6356.jpg


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

Sado island with all its uniqueness .., with a beach full of boulders .., also the bath tubs, .. japan indeed champion .., I @muhammadikbal like your post ,, I wait for your next posting

How cool are the bathtub boats!

I love your post and the pictures thank you for posting.

Elrond Huston Aka ehuston

Great Post and Work!!! Upvoted, Follow me and I Follow Back!! Regards!!

Thank you for sharing

good post

good post @kafkanarchy84 I will always follow your post because I am still a beginner in steemit and I really hope for your support

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59022.17
ETH 2569.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53