Donuts in Japan!

in #japan6 years ago

Japan loves donuts. They're everywhere! From Krispy Kreme, to Mister Donut, to combini donuts. In true Japanese fashion they have taken a foreign food, mastered it and mass produced it. Donuts in Japan are so good I would rather eat a donut from 7-11 in Japan than your typical donut joint in the US. Maybe that's not saying much...

Seriously though in my opinion the Japanese take after the French when it comes to pastries. The flavor of Japanese pastries and donuts is sophisticated. You can taste the ingredients without being overwhelmed by sugar and salt. It's something the American's have lost sight of. Or did we ever really have a mastery of pastries?

My favorite Japanese donuts are the Old Fashioned Chocolate, simple, inexpensive and delicious. I'd recommend starting out with one of these before moving onto the more advanced Nama Creme Filled or Ponda Ring/Mochi Ring.

Sort:  

This post has received a 1.65 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @japaninpictures.

I dunno... if you stepped in the backroom of any of these bakeries as I have and watch them work or asked about the ingredients they use, you might feel differently. In general it is a lot of stuff that is not good for us, as most konbini food, and a lot of flavoring to mask the otherwise bad taste. Really... about the same as in the US. Maybe a bit less sugar. I'll take a good real bakery that makes real bread over any of it anyday. There is a guy near here who studied at a traditional bakery in NYC and cooks wonderful sourdough bread everyday from scratch. Not a common thing in Japan, but oh so good.

But anyway, apologies, I don't mean to be negative about your post. Even tho I know what is in them and am not a fan, I also get the donuts more often than I should. The chocolate ones, same as you. Sugar is too hard to resist sometimes ;)

I understand most, if not all processed food is shit, but at least the Japanese make it taste better than the Americans.

No worries about the negativity. I have rosy colored glasses on when it comes to all things Japan and tend to overlook the negative.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68140.53
ETH 3250.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65