You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Top 8 Possible Titles for a Great Novel about Life in Japan (Notes from Under the Tatami Mats–46 … My Adventures in Japan)

in #japan6 years ago

These are incredible novel topics, topics that are quite unlikely to interest a UK or even US reader. But I then realize that Japan is neither UK nor US. Japan is Japan. This is Japan, you once hinted, is a popular saying to justify Japan's weirdness. So, I agree with you on these topics. They could possibly fascinate and enchant a Japanese mind.

So far, I've enjoyed the notes from under your sprawling Tatami mats. Although the notes are largely non-fiction, the storytelling have been great and compelling. This leaves me with the belief that you could make a great novelist if you're ready to invest the time. Moreover, what lured you and your friends to think up novel topics if you never intended to write a novel? Strange.

PS: Much of your writing style reminds me of H. Rider Haggard, the greatest, I believe, British adventure novelist. If you ever make up your mind on writing fiction, I believe you'll do well writing an adventure and in the first person narrative point of view.

In the spirit of the pen,
David.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64268.35
ETH 3499.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51