You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Top 3 Cycle Accidents, Experienced by Me (Notes from Under the Tatami Mats–39 … My Adventures in Japan)

in #japan6 years ago (edited)

This is a breathtaking narrative. From my bed here, I graphically see Japan and your many adventures. I am sure you won't do this now cause your adventures were over two decades ago when, of course, you were much more younger and daring. By the way, experience #1 above made me really laugh.

PS: You seem to have a flare for hats. I've seen that run through all (most) of your pictures.

Sort:  

That brings up an interesting story. I never used to wear a hat.

One evening in 1989 or 1990, in Sapporo, Japan, I took out the garbage. When I tossed our bag of garbage on the pile of neatly bagged garbage by the curb, I noticed a nice, clean, black cap (a "baseball-style" cap, with a white peace sign emblazoned on it) sitting invitingly on top of one of the bags. I picked up the cap, and it seemed clean enough, so I tried it on. It fit

I took the hat inside and washed it. The next day, I wore it to the school where I was teaching, and continued to wear it for 7-8 years.

Eventually, it grew old and a bit worn. So, I went shopping for a new hat. And instead of a "baseball" cap, I got a porkpie / bucket-type hat, with a narrow brim.

Since then, I've worn such brimmed types of hats, or sometimes a fedora or a straw hat. I rarely step outside my door without a hat on. If I do, I feel almost naked.
...
Glad you liked #1. Given the lack of injury or damage, it was also MY fave. By FAR!

Wow. Such an interesting story re how your love for hats began. Pardon that my inquisitiveness took you far back in time. I'm glad the origin is a finer tale not a grim experience of any sort.

Re #1 sure, there is every reason to fav it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61660.23
ETH 3056.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82