3.11.11 Great Earthquake and Tsunami Poetry (Steemit School Poetry 100 Day Challenge) [Day #4]

in #japan6 years ago (edited)


That's me in the distance wearing the orange top in Miyai prefecture Japan after the great earthquake and tsunami.

Remembering 3.11.11

Location:Ota City Gunma

TGIF, I made my way to the convenient store, with no thought of what the short journey had in store. Spring was getting ready to blossom, I could feel the warmth of the sun caressing my face with pinches of winter still in the air.

(Rumble Ghostly Roar) the only way to describe the sound from the earth, then a violent shake made it hard to walk much less stand, a greyed man shouted “come to the parking lot” it was safer there, we watched as light poles danced around like being strung by a giants thumb.

I thought the earth would crack open and swallow us like a whale eating a school of fish, living in the land of the rising sun we were familiar with the shakes but this one was unlike the tremors I slept through many twilights


3 weeks later, I volunteered in Miyagi prefecture, one of the hardest hit areas by the quake and tsunami


As we arrived on the scene of atomic destruction the first thing that caught my heart was a teddy bear muddied amongst flipped cars and pieces, piles, perched, wood and concrete from houses unknown, the smell in the air was of rotting fish and stale sludge sea water.

We couldn’t do much but did what we could, we cleared debris from homes of the survivors who lost countless family members and friends, their faces blank but smiles at times. We walked offering our hands , and our hearts. We found thousands of yen in the muck but circumstances would not call it luck.

We bought nourishments and had a bbq under the moon light for the community, in times like this it’s all about love and unity, at times the tremors could be felt, thought on minds, will another wave be sent.....

IMG_7445.JPG

That's me in the army hoody clearing out debris with my fellow volunteers

IMG_7444.JPG

IMG_7447.JPG

The camp site at a university where we were based.

IMG_7443.JPG

One of many cars we saw on roof tops.



On March 11. 2011 a disastorous earthquake and tsunami hit the Tohoku area in Japan. The above poem is my experience. I have been living in Japan for the last 11 years. At the time of the quake, many foreigners left Japan. Not me, or my friends who volunteered. The order and unity that I saw during the disasters showed me that the Japanese people are truly amazing. Good bless all who were affected by this disaster.


---Steemit School Poetry---
--100 Day Challenge!--
See the original post about the competition here
Join the Steemit School discord group for the latest info on the contest and more awesome good stuff.
Thank you for reading! I appreciate it.


poetry level: intermediate
pics are my own.

Sort:  

Yeah man had to fresh up memory a lil though. Yo Flag that lola trick below with her phishing self.

A very nice post dmilliz, this is very useful for the crowd and especially for myself.
I get a new knowledge from your article.
Thanks for sharing and hopefully you will be more successful for your work ... :)
Check my article about MR | Atletico Madrid 3 - 0 Celta Vigo | 11.03.2018 and if u want give me your feedback!
My article here MR | Atletico Madrid 3 - 0 Celta Vigo | 11.03.2018

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57038.56
ETH 2908.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65