You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SCMAGLEV and Railway Park for train fanatics

in #japan5 years ago

Any steam trains in the museum, or are they all bullet trains? I remember riding the old steam trains back in Scotland when I was a child. The trains do look very sleek!

Sort:  

They do, the older trains are on the second floor but I didn't t have enough time to see that.
Apparently they have one of Japan's oldest steam engine here. I figured you can see steam engines all over the world, but not many countries have such a fascinating fleet of high speed trains, so spent nearly all my time here

Yes, We have no high speed trains here in the US. So, that was quite fascinating to read about - also your trip on the bullet train!

Maryland are doing a feasibility study at the moment to build the maglav to connect Washington with Baltimore. They are expected to make a decision some time in 2021. So you never know, you might get one soon.
https://northeastmaglev.com/

Failing that, there's always the HS2 back home!

I’m unlikely to be able to travel by then - if I am even still around. Lol!

Well, I just looked it up and HS2 is not as far in the future as I thought after all. I was thinking it was planned for about 25 years away for some reason. So, you never know. I may be able to ride it!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60200.47
ETH 3004.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63