You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: This Is Japan

in #japan7 years ago (edited)

It looks amazingly clean! I think there are a lot of benefits to the system that Japan uses. Out of curiosity, do you know (or is it widely known) why they do this? Is it to teach the students things such as group work, responsibility, etc, or rather to cut costs or another reason?

Sort:  

I don't know for certain, but I would say all of the above: teach responsibility, cut costs, promote group work, make certain realize the value of the things they use everyday and the importance of maintaining them, etc.

Thanks for replying! That's really cool, I think it should definitely be implemented in more places!

They keep students very busy and very involved in school affairs here. I think they keep kids a little too busy, but a lot of things that can be seen as positive do come from that.

I have heard that about Japan. Nearly every part of a child's life takes part at school right? I don't think that is great by any means.. I think children need creativity and I can't imagine how parent/child relationships survive (although I guess the working hours are also incredibly long).

After they enter junior high school, much of their life is tied up in school related activities, many of them at a child's school, others at tutoring and sports facilities, etc.

Within the constraints of this, children are given quite a bit of say and responsibility and also have many chances to be creative. While I do think it can be stifling, one thing that it does do is keep kids off the streets and out of trouble, for the most part.

I can't decide what I think about it, but it often appears a little over the top to me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55528.94
ETH 2373.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36