Sort:  

I find that Civilized is one of the words that is difficult to pinpoint the real meaning of. It tends to change in use and context.

Japan is orderly, and very homogenous on the surface. There are ways things are done here that are pretty much observed across the board. Maybe that comes through in my photos.

As for the stratification that exists here, I think that it tends to hide inside of houses. People tend to put their best foot forward here when in public, and all of the uniforms at work and school do a good job of hiding obvious signs of poverty.

As for the seedier parts of life here, I don't get out and experience the nightlife and stranger parts of town much anymore, and I write from the viewpoint of a foreigner very much immersed in the culture here, but as a foreigner nonetheless, so it's hard to know about and have access to all of that. I've heard stories, but I can't confirm them.

It is very peaceful and orderly here, so I guess that civilized would describe that aspect of life here well.

I think the word is more polite.
But yes, Japan had its own cultural "Golden Age" and that is less farer away then in most other countries. Especially in food.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56095.11
ETH 2533.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23