You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: This Is Japan

in #japan7 years ago

I use day planners, and have since... come to think of it, I started emulating my dad when I was about eight or nine, so that would have been 1968.

That was in Denmark... and looking at your Japanese example, I think people are "busy" everywhere. but in some cultures that busy is extremely structured. Our busy certainly was... everything had its appropriate time, and if something was scheduled for 2-3, you STOPPED at three, even if you were having a good time.

The odd thing is, even as we were busy, we didn't seem to be "running" nearly as much as I experience it now, living in the US. Not sure I can identify how that works...

Sort:  

You're right, people are busy everywhere. I wonder if your sense of busy-ness has changed with age and perspective or if, as you said, the lack of timely closings/endings for events and plans leads to a lot of running around, trying to make up for lost time.

I do find it comforting to be able to say, Well, it's time to go. Let's get together again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59628.53
ETH 2405.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45