Fond Memories of When When I grew up in Okinawa, Japan

in #japan8 years ago

When I was born, my parents and I quickly moved to Okinawa, Japan since my father was in the military.

We lived there for the first 6 years of my life. The above photo is me outside playing with my Okinawan friends.

All I have are such fond memories of being there. Above is my mom and I visiting a local temple.

I keep thinking about how I would love to visit again, and even go to mainland Japan. The people and culture are one of my favorites in the world.

I've admired and visited a few other countries in the world, but Japan is my favorite. I guess it's because I had my first memories there, and my family life was good for those beginning years.

Unfortunately, it would be years later that all changed when we moved back to the USA.

It's sad we live in such a dark world, now. I hope one day things become the best for all people's around the world.

I hate to think about how things don't seem to be getting any better, but worst due to a small few who keep it that way.

I suppose this is what this Earth realm is, and always will be. But I am happy that I got to experience some goodness, and am just thinking about how it was great while in Okinawa, Japan.

Peace be unto everyone.


Thanks for any upvotes/steem/reblogs/steem dollars/comments/follows!

Sort:  

I'm an Army brat and I have very fond memories of living in Korea. At one point we had 4 generations in the same house. It was actually wonderful....except for my scary great-grandmother. Man, she had knuckles of steel! lol

@merej99 funny you mention that, when I lived in Baltimore, Maryland some years later all my friends in the 80's were S. Koreans and they were such good people - Loved them. :) So, I know. :) It's not that I don't appreciate and love my European heritage - I just think it's good to point out how so many people around the world are just so precious to love/enjoy/ etc... I love hearing about your grandma' btw. Take care.

War, poverty, corruption, sickness... etc.

Your post brings back fond memories of living on Kadena AFB Okinawa in the early 60s, My friends from those long ago times tell me that Okinawa is very developed now with super highways, etc. Then we had only 2 lane Hwy. #1 and it took half a day to drive from Kadena AFB to Naha.

Haha! I am remembering the night they changed lanes from US control to back to Japanese. Good times, and people indeed. Thank you @team101. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60596.21
ETH 2611.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64