You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Top 4 Curry Restaurants in Japan (Notes from Under the Tatami Mats–56 … My Adventures in Japan)

in #japan6 years ago

Your image for the list of restaurants isn't showing in the post. You might have to edit that.

As far as the curry. I've been to many, many Thai restaurants in Japan, and very, very few compare to real Thai food in Thailand. Most Thai restaurants I've been to here serve bland, watered down versions of Thai food. They do this to suit Japanese taste. Many Japanese people can't handle spicy food, and are used to eating very light flavors compared to most of the world, so authentic Thai food just doesn't sell well in most of Japan, or at least that's the theory.

As far as Japanese curry goes, didn't you ever try CoCo Ichiban? They have 10 different levels of spiciness to choose from. Level 4 is pretty spicy. I tried level 6 once and regretted it. Some Thai friends came to visit and I took them there. They ordered level 7 and THEY regretted it.

Go figure, huh? The biggest Japanese curry chain in Japan has super spicy curry, while the Thai restaurants in Japan mostly don't.

Sort:  

The image shows on my laptop.

I think there's a bug of sorts. A few days ago, I was on my brother's laptop, and none of the thumbnail images nor images can be seen on his laptop. Weird.

The Thai restaurants I've been to in Japan served very hot n spicy curry. I've never eaten at CoCo Ichiban, but used to sometime eat Miyoshino curry, which is basic Japanese curry.

The image actually shows up on Steemit but not on Steempeak, whcih is what I use to read posts. Which is weird, because Steempeak is overall much better than Steemit. I guess it's a bug in Steempeak.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99