This Is Japan

in #japan8 years ago

Explore everyday life in Japan

The Toilet Paper Debate

image

The toiliet paper debate in Japan ended some time ago.

Who made the final decision? I don’t know. But whoever it was, whether an individual or a group with vested interests, did it with clarity. A toilet paper dispenser was made that only works properly, meaning that it only tears the paper neatly along its perforated line, when the toilet paper roll is inserted the correct way.

image

And what is the correct way?

Well, here in Japan, inserting the toilet paper roll so that the loose end of the toilet paper curls over the top of the roll and hangs down in front of the dispenser, not at the back near the wall, is without a doubt the absolute correct way.

I would venture to guess that you could travel this entire country through and through and you would not find a single roll of toilet paper inserted with the loose end hanging at the back of the toilet paper roll near the wall (with possible exceptions being made for those found on U.S. military bases).

image

The Benefits of this Toilet Paper Dispenser

As you can see by looking at these pictures, when the toilet paper is inserted correctly, one can easily unroll the desired amount of paper, gently press down with one hand on the metal or plastic flap that rests on top of the toilet paper and, with the other hand, lift the toilet paper up so that it tears neatly along the edge of this covering.

With this toilet paper dispenser, gone are the days of hurried vertical tears and accidental over-pulls, when thirty centimeters of toilet paper or more suddenly releases and one is left with toilet paper trailing from one’s hand, across one’s knees, and down onto the floor.

In addition, as an added bonus, one can also fold the torn edge of the toilet paper up so that it forms a nice triangle at the edge of the dispenser's lid. This can be used, and often is in Japan, as a sign to signal that the restroom has recently been cleaned, which is something that I find nice.

image


Image Credits: All images in this post are original.


This is an ongoing series that will explore various aspects of daily life in Japan. My hope is that this series will not only reveal to its followers, image by image, what Japan looks like, but that it will also inform its followers about unique Japanese items and various cultural and societal practices. If you are interested in getting regular updates about life in Japan, please consider following me at @boxcarblue. If you have any questions about life in Japan, please don’t hesitate to ask. I will do my best to answer all of your questions.


If you missed my last post, you can find it here Hatsumoude.

Sort:  

Well, here in Japan, inserting the toilet paper roll so that the loose end of the toilet paper curls over the top of the roll and hangs down in front of the dispenser, not at the back near the wall, is without a doubt the absolute correct way.

This is the absolute correct way - and how it should be everywhere. Who actually prefers the alternative, other than contrarians who don't know much about toilet paper dispensing?

I used to be impartial and just pop the toilet paper roll into place without paying much attention to which way it was unraveling. I have lived with a lot of different people in my life and I don't remember anyone ever complaining about it, which doesn't mean that they didn't.

I will say this, when the roll faces the wall, it is easier to bat the roll of toilet paper with your hand so that it spins around and releases the toilet paper for you, rather than having to pull it with your hand, which sometimes leads to it tearing or breaking.

When the roll is facing the wall, you can also use one hand to hold the roll in place while pulling on the toilet paper with your other hand. This presses the unraveled sheets of toilet paper against the roll itself and tends to lead to a clean break along the toilet paper's perforation.

That said, I'm now an advocate of the "correct way".

I really just wanted to write a post about the dispensers that are used all over Japan. I've never seen them anywhere else. Or, if I have, I didn't notice them.

The clean bathrooms and high-tech toilets here are half the reason I stay, I sometimes think.

Can you spot the voluntaryist's toilet paper in this post?

The Abani dispenser?

Good eye, sir.

I can't understand how anyone could consider it the right way for toilet paper to tangle against the wall, hard to get and - if you have dirty hands - easily to smear the **** on the wall.

But I often hear I am too logical.

I used to not mind if it faced the wall.

But I often hear that I'm too indifferent:)

I never did something against it when I was somewhere else. I just rolled my eyes about the stupidity and leave the place asap ;)

After all there is so much stupidity in the world this is a really really unimportant one. So feel free to be indifferent!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57956.22
ETH 3126.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45