You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: This Is Japan

in #japan7 years ago

I grew up in the States, and it's pretty mixed there. Some people pull in, some people back in, some people double park. I would guess, though, that the majority of people of pull in. I agree that pulling out of a space is much safer and easier.

Sort:  

I think the difference is mainly caused by the amount of space you usually get. Both Japan and where I live, everything's narrower and more crammed. If I have to back out of the parking space in front of the building where I live, I would have to wait a long time until somebody decides to stop to let me come out, otherwise it's either moving cars or cars that are waiting in traffic behind you so there is no space for you to back into so you can merge. My guess would be that there is something similar going on in Japan too.

In the States it seems that while there are traffic jams, most spaces seem to be wider and there is more time and space for maneuvering even if you have to back out of a spot.

I can see that. Space definitely can be an issue here. Houses and buildings tend to be built right on the street with very little room for driveways and parking. Plus, once a habit is established, it's hard to break.

Absolutely, habits are always difficult to break especially when they become culturally reinforced.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60701.29
ETH 2637.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52