You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: This Is Japan

in #japan7 years ago

Yeah. I work as an ALT now, but when I first came here I worked at an eikaiwa for a little over four years.

Writing kanji is difficult. Like anything, if you don't use it, you lose it. Even a lot of Japanese people these days rely on their phones to remind them of kanji strokes. It's one of those things you have to do over and over again until it sticks with you.

I can here just to try living abroad and found that life here suited me. Now, I'm most likely here for good.

Sort:  

I have a friend who was an ALT for a couple years. He also really enjoyed it. The guy is 6ft 6ish so you can imagine how he stood out. He did tell me that being a teacher over there can be tough.

He was teaching in a very small village, I cant recall the name, but how and what he could teach was kinda set in stone.

The Japanese feel very strongly about there own style of teaching so to speak. Has that been your experience?

I've found a lot of variety in the expectations that teachers have of me and in the teaching styles they have themselves. The material is all very uniform, but I am often given a lot of freedom to create my own material and implement original activities. I think the systemiver here would benefit from longer projects and task based activities that cover multiple lessons, but I can't implement that because I don't frequent the same classes regularly enough. It can be fun and interesting, though. Especially, for the first couple of years.

At 6 foot 6, you would definitely stand out here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58589.32
ETH 2636.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45