This Is Japan

in #japan6 years ago

Explore everyday life in Japan

Manhole Covers


4C38E87A-2B02-4688-9560-24CF37290FDB.jpeg


These days, it is not much of a secret that Japan has a wide variety of decorative manhole covers all across the country. In fact, a rough estimate would put the number at around 1,655 distinct manhole covers that celebrate many of the trees, flowers, rivers, gardens, animals, foods, architecture, and symbols that are considered to be unique to and representative of most of Japan’s 1,780 municipalities.


202D45BF-2548-4B08-B82F-0FCD17B70416.jpeg


What may be lesser known, however, is that there are now collectible Manhole Cards which can only be obtained in person (one card per person) and only at specific locations (It appears that each card has its own location.). These cards were first made in 2016 and have slowly been released, one card at a time, since their inception. At the moment, there are only 222 different Manhole Cards being issued from 191 different municipalities, but that number will continue to grow as new cards are steadily released.


0FA66916-D573-499B-BD2E-916A78A48C8F.jpeg


Of course, when many people come to Japan, they don’t necessarily think to look down. Often, they are too busy looking upward and around them at the traffic, the pedestrians, the buildings and shrines, etc., but if you ever find yourself in Japan, be sure to keep your eyes on the street as well.

You will be sure to find some fantastic examples of Japanese art and craftsmanship even at your feet. And while it might be fun and plenty satisfying to just snap a few pictures of the different manhole covers you find during your travels here, why not go the extra step and get yourself some collectible Manhole Cards as well. Who knows, you might be able to sell them on Rakuten to someone with an insatiable manhole cover obsession.


980E16A7-960E-4F97-AFB4-D89B1A5259D7.jpeg


For more information on where to pick up these cards while you are in Japan, please refer to this website. The information is in Japanese, but you can always translate it using a translation website or just contact me for help.

Sources: Manhole covers: The Japan Times

The Beauty of Japan’s Artistic Manhole Covers


5354DA9B-B472-4CFE-8C9D-544596D3B1A0.jpeg


Image Credits: All images in this post are original.


This is an ongoing series that will explore various aspects of daily life in Japan. My hope is that this series will not only reveal to its followers, image by image, what Japan looks like, but that it will also inform its followers about unique Japanese items and various cultural and societal practices. If you are interested in getting regular updates about life in Japan, please consider following me at @boxcarblue. If you have any questions about life in Japan, please don’t hesitate to ask. I will do my best to answer all of your questions.


If you missed my last post, you can find it here Yuzu Bath.

Sort:  

doge manhole.jpg

As a dogecoin fan...this is my favorite!

That's a great picture! Dogecoin could use that for an advertising campaign.

Great look at this. They really are something, eh? So much attention to something that most people never see. I first posted about these things over ten years ago. I think I beat the drain spotting book that really introduced the Japanese manhole covers to the world by a few years. If you or any of your readers are interested in seeing more, my buddy Dan of Japanese Castle Explorer once set about compiling photos of every unique manhole cover in Japan. You can find his manhole cover site here: http://jmc.japanese-castle-explorer.com

That's a great resource. Thank you for sharing it here.

In a lot of ways, I think these manhole covers say a lot about Japan and Japanese culture. Just like all the uniforms and the traditional dolls like hina dolls and kabuto helmets, and even like the land-o-sell backpacks that all elementary schools students buy and where to school, this is a way to create specialty jobs, employ artisans, and keep money flowing through the economy. In addition, they add to the uniqueness and character of each area, which is something that I think is really valued over here.

Ahhhh the true beauty of japan lies not only within the people, rich culture, food, transit, the everlasting hustle and bustle and cleaniness of the country, but also the extraordinary architecture of not only the buildings and the immense temples and shrines, but something as simple as manhole covers... here is a shot that I took while visiting Japan this past summer, brings back the vivid memories and oh how I can't wait to go back!
Awesome post here @boxcarblue Much respect from @conradsuperb

Very well written comment. You’ve nailed it. I believe that’s a Kyoto manhole cover, but I’m not sure. I have a similar picture, but mine doesn’t have those nice colors in the middle.

This was actually a manhole cover in Arakawa, very close to Minami-senju station... I wish I would have taken more photos of manhole covers while I was there, but now I guess I have something to look forward to for next time around.. ARITGATOO GOZAIMASU :-)

You’re welcome. Enjoy your next trip back.

Oh I loved these when I was in Japan. Talk about making the mundane beautiful. I can't wait to go back and take more pictures of them. Here's one I found when I was there.

2974942040_f1f2209128_o.jpg

That’s a good one. I’ve only been to Kurashiki once and I have a lot of memories from it, but I definitely didn’t notice these manhole covers. That’s great!

The art that takes its place everywhere .. even underfoot .... not only in galleries or museums or in luxurious spaces ... I think this is also one of the signs of a greatness.

Incorporating art and design into daily life and movement is very important to living a peaceful and happy life I think.

Awesome job, I particularly like the firefighting samurai! Followed and restemed

Thanks edouard. I like your gif.

That is great that you a re looking down. Very nice covers and photos!

Thanks. I’d actually like to travel and photograph as many as I can, but it’s already been done, and my kids keep me pretty close to home.

i would love to visit japan :)

Hodl your Steem and you’ll soon be able to.

sure bro :) would you follow me back?

So Cool! I'll check out Saitama, Japan when i go every year!!!!!

Definitely do. I don’t think I have any pictures of the manholes in Saitama, though I’ve been many times.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61804.64
ETH 3395.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51