You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: → 21 Little Things That People Miss After Leaving Japan

in #japan6 years ago

Tipping in America. Yes, so annoying. I haven't caved under that societal pressure, so maybe some people think I'm a jerk but I only give a decent tip if it was earned. I suppose I still cave to the pressure to give a little bit of a tip even if service was lackluster, but I have done no tip on a few occasions.

The toilet thing totally makes sense! Why isn't this the standard bathroom layout plan in America too?!

But the shoes. People really wear their shoes in their house? What's wrong with them? Why would you do that?! We've always had a no shoe house and it seems the same amongst or friends whom we visit. I either just associate with the right people or don't get around to enough other houses. Well I'm fine with it. Shoes are for outside... they're filthy. You know what happens out on that world we walk on? Yuck!

Sort:  

Haha you and me both, @aksounder. When I was living in the States, I was infamous for only tipping if I actually was given good service. I never thought that was so shocking, and honestly, most restaurant service is usually pretty good, so I usually tipped, but... I occasionally didn't. But anyway, I really hope this changes someday. I have read that some places in NYC are actually paying their servers decent wages and telling customers not to tip, so maybe change is in the air.

Re: the toilet. I know, right?? If I am ever in the position to build a house from scratch in the States, I am totally telling the architect to separate the toilet and bathroom.

The shoes thing def seems to be changing. When I was a kid, everyone wore their shoes inside. It was gross. Nowadays, many people are making the decision to not allow shoes inside, and certain parts of the States seem to have had that no shoe rule for a few generations now. Wish my folks were among them.... I guess I can somewhat accept shoes on tile floors, but no no no no on carpet. Arrrgghh.

We have so many social habits to change in America!

Haha, I'd go out for a meal with you anytime and you're welcome to come to my house after. A place in Talkeetna, Alaska has gone to being a no tip establishment. They've got signs all over declaring it. New York and Alaska... perhaps the paradigm shift has begun?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62102.31
ETH 2432.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67