Tanuki, Japanese raccon village in Kyoto,Japan

in #japan-newbie6 years ago

kyoto 1.jpg

The first truly ride worthy weather of the year and a pack of us rode to Kyoto on the back winding roads. We pulled into a parking lot filled with Japanese raccoons, ( Tanuki ) statues ranging in size from tiny to over 10 meters tall! This pudgy little guy caught my eye right away!

kyoto 3.jpg

The beauty of having a motorbike is being able to go to places not as accessible by public transport. Our guide for the day was a seasoned rider, and all 4 of us had just had spring maintenance done with new tires, so we were feeling ready to ride as hard as our skill level allowed!

kyoto 2.jpg

Bonus pic of lunch after! 12 dollars for an all you can eat yakiniku lunch. Help yourself style to all kinds of beef, chicken, pork, veggies, desserts, fried chicken and salads! Amazing.

Anyone else on here ride a motorcycle in Japan? Maybe we can go on a tour somewhere!?

Sort:  

Hah, funny. I'm reading this post wearing my Tanuki shirt just as I got back from the gym riding my motorcycle.

I came across a nice Shrine with Tanuki on 初詣 last year just off the busy streets of Akihabara when I visited. Tanukis are interesting creatures, aren't they?

Nice! Just checked out your intro and saw your interest in 柔術. I moved to Japan 15 years ago to pursue martial arts after training in Canada. Kyokushin style karate, kickboxing and 柔術. I am a super fan of MMA and if you are too, it would be nice to have a friend on here that not only watches but trains as well! I would guess that you might be excited for Brian Ortega's recent win and upcoming title shot? Followed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66579.21
ETH 3282.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30