Saltfish Fritters

in #jahm4 years ago

I recently received a package from my mother. She had just cane back from Jamaica and sent me a few items. Fry fish, coconut drops, coco plum, sorrel, moringa seeds,roast breadfruit, fresh ackee. A nice little package. I had planned on making some ackee and saltfish for dinner on Sunday.
Sunday morning though i was in the mood for fritters. So i used some of the saltfish and made fritters for breakfast. Kind you this is my first time making fritters.

20200202_091636.jpg

Turned out pretty good for my first time. I found the recipe online and tweaked it a bit. I added onions but next time around I'll omit it.

20200202_083247.jpg

Diced tomatoes, scallion, thyme, scotch bonnet pepper, garlic and onion.

20200202_090257.jpg

A cup of flower, black pepper, salt, baking powder. Add the saltfish, tomatoes, etc. Then add some water and an egg and mix. Spoon mixture into hot oil.

20200202_090925.jpg

20200202_092530.jpg

Finished product. Saltfish fritters, scrambled eggs, and a cold glass of sorrel juice. Wifey loved Sunday morning breakfast.


Posted via ReggaeSteem | Reggae Culture Rewarded

Sort:  

Lovely :) looks delicious and lovely set out to your post. Did you have to do anything to the saltfish before you used it?

I just boiled it to get some of the salt out. Depending on the type you buy, another round of boiling might be needed.


Posted via ReggaeSteem | Reggae Culture Rewarded

delicious I love everything


Posted via ReggaeSteem | Reggae Culture Rewarded

Thanks


Posted via ReggaeSteem | Reggae Culture Rewarded

Nothing beats fish in the mail 😻 Gotta love those care packages


Posted via ReggaeSteem | Reggae Culture Rewarded

I was excited to get the package, especially the fish. It's been a while since i had some fried fish from Jamaica. You can taste the difference.


Posted via ReggaeSteem | Reggae Culture Rewarded

@babarakas43 wow this meal looks yummy and delicious,you are lucky to have such a wonderful mother...GOD bless her....


Posted via ReggaeSteem | Reggae Culture Rewarded

Thanks a lot. Yes I'm blessed.

Posted using Partiko Android

I didn't realize you could bring fresh ackees, well yaadiz have them ways LOL/. Yeah man fritters easier than it looks. Made some recently. When yo go yaad try the ones in track and records ( usain bolt restaurant) BRO, if you have the time in June, come to Negril for JAHMFEST. Linkage

Yeah it was picked out the pod and the seed taken out. She had in a ziploc don't think she did to much hiding of it. They was awesome and yes very easy to make. Hopefully I could make but won't make no promises.

Posted using Partiko Android

@babarakas43 please share this wonderful meal with me,i am feeling hungry right now...lol....

anyways the meal looks tasty and nice...


Posted via ReggaeSteem | Reggae Culture Rewarded

Lol I definitely could see how it can make you hungry. It was delicious maybe next time 😊😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58665.81
ETH 3153.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44