When #IWasAKid...

in #iwasakid7 years ago (edited)

When I was a kid, I was an ACTUAL RAINBOW.

IMG_8601.JPG
courtesy of mom's creative costuming genius

When I was a kid, movies where bullies picked on the little guy and where creatures were hurt or neglected made me cry.

E18E17C2-60B1-4890-A8A3-1D334896458B.JPG

When I was a kid, I always asked for the “boys” toy in a happy meal- because hot wheels beat barbies ANY DAY.

7119966A-C4EC-47E6-B46E-F90E15F38331.JPG

When I was a kid, my german auto technician father would come home from work, and I’d sit on his lap and ask him a ZILLION questions about important things, (like molded plastic), like an analog version of “How its Made.”

IMG_8155.JPG

When I was a kid, when my parents would sarcastically ask if I was raised by wolves, I’d reply, “I wish!”

IMG_0303.JPG

When I was a kid, I was obsessed with robots…

When I was a kid, I was never more happy than when I was outside exploring.

When I was a kid, I wore a pair of denim shorts overalls and a backwards Yankees cap every day of the summer.

When I was a kid, I wished that my parents would fight less.

When I was a kid, summer trips to Coney Island, Chinatown, & The Museum of Natural History were my FAVORITE.

VSCO Cam-1.jpg

Coney Island is still one of my favorite places on earth...

When I was a kid, I taught all my classmates how to play blackjack on the playground

IMG_6762.JPG

When I was a kid, I rode and helped fix, bikes, scooters, go karts, mopeds motorcycles and Vespas. Anything that would make me go ZOOM!
IMG_3209 2.JPG
The 1964 Sears Allstate Vespa Dad and I rebuilt

When I was a kid, and someone asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up, I’d say “Happy”. —and I still do...**

IMG_8150.JPG

*GIRL. THOSE JEANS THO!! YES!

I hope you enjoyed a bit of a dive into little kid-dayleeo's brain this Sunday afternoon, if you'd like to participate in this challenge the rules are below! Super special thanks to @grow-pro for creating this challenge!

i-was-a-kid-challenge-50x800px.png

Want to Enter? It's Simple!

• The post can be a photo from your childhood or something that reminds you of your childhood - music, food, clothing, toys, places, or anything like that! Feel free to get as creative as you like!

• Be sure to use #iwasakid as 1 of your 5 tags in your post - this will help others view your posts related to the challenge!

• Copy & Paste these simple rules so others can easily participate

Until next time friends!
<3 Dayleeo

» TWEET ME «
» YOUTUBES «
» DISCORDA «
» PODCAST «

Sort:  

oh this is truly THE best #iwasakid post I've seen. the cuteness is still burning!

adorbs right. oh my.

hehe <3 danka bizaaa

daww thank you LL! <3

That rainbow outfit is so classic ! Thanks for sharing these.

Thanks! It looks like i was enjoying it at the time as well!

This is a cool challenge. Hmm, I might want to do it with art rather than photos, hope that'd be ok. Of course my main desire as a kid was animals, and well, that never went away and I am surrounded by them. I guess I never really grew up ;)

Go for it! :D @grow-pro said to be as creative as you like, I say run with it :)

Loved your post!!!!!! you looks happy girl and that is important. My favorite photo was when you were a rainbow ;-)

haha that's my favorite too @abundancedeal! Thanks so much for taking the time to stop by!

Adorable pictures! It sounds like you had a lot of fun growing up.

What do you zoom around on now? Motorcycles? Airplanes? Go-carts?

Oh I WISH I had a go-kart as an adult lol. I don't have many toys as I've been bi-continental recently- but @teamhumble and I hope to have a van and a pair of rad e-bikes to get from place to place on some day :)

bi-continental, do tell.

haha yes between the UK & US :)

I would love an e-bike. Or an electric motorcycle!

yes yes!!! Both my parents had motorcycles growing up, so my love of two wheeled transport runs deep haha would LOVE a vespa again one day

Oh - let's all go to Europe and buy Vespas and explore!

Lol oh the life !

awww you are such a cutie!! dayleeo

With love

harj : ) xoxo
Abstract artist

haha thank you!

Thank you! dayleeo would be great to get your interpretion on my last art post called "Kurtd Cobain" your insight would help us : )

With love

harj : ) xoxo
Abstract artist

a very touching story @dayleeo. I really like your story💕

thank you friend

Dayleeeeeeooooo all these pictures give me a punky Brewster vibe, so cute :)

Oh my goodness LOL you're too funny, I was a definite tom boy for sure, oh to be a kid in the 80s & 90s :)

Okey, how cute is this! Your pics are so cool! :)
I think we were really happy to grow before the whole Internet/fashion babys/baby influencers thing :D I appreciate it :)

Haha yeah I feel like I grew up in the perfect spot where I remember a life “unconnected” but was exposed young enough to really fall in love with it :) 💕

Could you be any cuter? Love the costume and oh my with that Vespa, that must have been fun.

SO fun! Of course I wasnt allowed to ride that until I was a bit older, but there wasn't much that didnt zoom that I wasn't involved with from a very young age haha Thank you @sunscape!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66703.61
ETH 3518.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68