iteration, my obsession.

in #iteration7 years ago (edited)


Ah, Sundays man. I love Sundays.

It’s the time when I get to do my best process pipelining for the week. I always strive to make something a little better each week, we all do I guess but I’m kinda obsessed with it — I’ve always been about crossing that divide between creativity and optimising, I’m not even sure where it came from.

repetition of a mathematical or computational procedure applied to the result of a previous application, typically as a means of obtaining successively closer approximations to the solution of a problem — a new version of a piece of computer hardware or software.

Maybe it’s because I don’t wanna be into ‘one’ thing, I’ve never been about being relevant, niche, exclusive, adoration, vanity. I’ve always just wanted to be left alone inside my own head making and sharing, I find the creative process so darn cool, it’s as basic as a piece of slippy Lino and a boombox, you know what your gonna get if you have the right breaking beats! :)

This week I’m really determined to get the software part of the live-streaming locked down, put together a number of scenes and sources that help with making thumbnails just that much easier, I’ve seen some of the processes done on youtube so I’m gonna apply them for the thumbnails.

if not stated some of my photos are from unsplash a free site for images, also you can grab some cool images from nomad.pictures a site i run with @dayleeo to get pictures out of the camera roll and onto the web — Photo by Niti K. on Unsplash

whenever I make something I know it can be better, sometimes it’s about learning a process, doing that process over and over again until it becomes muscle memory. With technology you always have more than just the content to worry about you have a whole suite of processes that you must have right to get the desired result.

You have to approach it from the right headspace for a start, I’ve used ‘sprints’ to force me to get as much done in a period of time for a while now, I find it useful to put ‘pressure’ on myself to have an outcome at the end of the two hours that gives me a new result than when I started.

Sometimes you just have a knack for things and they come easily, computers is my bag where that is concerned. I’m not an artist, I create with my limited skills that I have, I’m not trained officially (whatever that means these days) all I know has come from learning, tinkering and adding my own creative experimentation from.

This is what is my main motivation in life, not being better but being more optimised with what I have, today. Right now, that’s the most important thing for me to subscribe too, being a more optimised version of Phil human than anything else.

if I’m better at being me I can be better in the greater world, call it decentralising my emotive way of being — sticking up a BS firewall at the world and self healing internally first before presenting the human in front of you.

For instance, every morning (or like today, the night before) I check in with myself in terms of WANTS and NEEDS - what do I need to do with my life today and the coming week, what are my NEEDS, what are the NEEDS of the people around me, close to, who I’ve not spoken to in a while (social checkin with them etc)

Balance is hugely important to me in life and I really struggle with it (don’t we all!) I try and limit getting ‘too deep’ in digital platforms because I’ve had decades of it, I got bored of it, I’d rather have that face to face interaction instead (video comes closer thou) with people rather than spend time for instance all day in discord or something similar.

i certainly see a day in the near future where working might become a whole different thing, where basic income and crypto are de facto standards, where the work we do in the world is more important than the financial rewards we take, when we move away from fiats into a time spent rewards based system with each other and the way we do it.

Imagine the iterations then you will have to do with your own life, what will it be to be human in an always on world, navigating all the different strands of information that the world is bombarding us more than it does already. We will need to iterate the way we live faster than ever before.



pinterest epic wins pinboard → brand advocate for nokia, 1000heads, verisign → won vloggie for node666 (san fran 2006) → television for time team history hunters 1999 (burton on trent) → sold me.dm to evan williams in april 2011 → went to phil campbell, alabama to help raise money after tornado ripped up the town (was on sky news, bbc news)→ CNN for sxsw 2013 about austin south by southwest event → video chat with robert scoble from rackspace → music video can you spot me? → won the digital derry contest for 5k euros → crowdfunded digital signage concept called pi street → now living life through digital blockchains.

Sort:  

well that's good because i kinda love you too.

KINDAAAA!!!?!?! BOYYYEEEEE ;) <3

GIVE ME A BREAK! lol.

lol okok <3

God will bless you so you try to do something good. Have fun on your Sunday

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63135.01
ETH 2546.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64