You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Capri, Naples, Italy - Mediterranean gem

in #italy7 years ago

Thanks for great photos. Grazie!

You are from Napoli? Well, that's excellent, you lucky guy :)

We are going on a short family vacation to Napoli this October. I am sure you can give me some tips where to go and what to see apart from the usual tourist spots. Only if you wish to do so, of course.

Grazie ancora e tanti auguri da Slovenia :)

Sort:  

October is a very good period to go (although it may be a bit rainy, but at least not too hot). I will be sure to share on Steemit a guide to Naples. It was already in my thoughts to do it, now you give me a reason more ;)

Excellent :) Thanks in advance.

First two questions - logistics. I am yet to search for an apartment and to rent a car. Any suggestions? We'll be in Napoli from October the 25th late in the evening until November the 1st with an afternoon departure. That gives 7 nights. Wow, a short long vacation :)

In Naples we use to say "If you can drive in Naples, you can drive anywhere" because it is quite crazy driving. IF you get the car, my suggestion is not to stay in the very center, to try to save some money. Rent the car is easy, BUT keep in mind that, as far as i know, to rent a car in Italy you must have a credit card (not debit card).
What i would suggest to a friend anyway is to stay in the center and don't take a car, because most of the interesting things are in the center, some places out of the city (like Pompei) are within 1 hour by train/bus.
Yes, public transport service in Naples is pretty poor, but between the stress for the crazy traffic and the one for poor service, I would suggest the latter, unless you are used with it (and to give you an idea, when I go back home and I need to go in the city centre, I don't drive).

That's a good suggestion, thank you. If I can use public transport to get to the spots outside the city that's an added bonus for a fun factor :)

Yes, I know how wild the traffic in Italy is. I've been three times to Sardegna on a long vacation. But I guess that cities of Sardegna are sleepy rural villages when you compare them to Napoli :)

Thanks again. I will certainly follow your posts. Good night!

Definitely nothing in comparison... Naples is one of the biggest city in Italy and some town in Naples have the highest population density in Italy. Yes, you can use definitely public transport, they are not too frequent (once per 30/60 mins) but with a bit of organisation you can sort it out. Have a good night as well :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64863.39
ETH 3196.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53