iTalent Contest - poetry/songwriting & singing rapping entry

in #italent6 years ago (edited)

This is my entry for the iTalent Contest, in two categories: Visual Arts (poetry/songwriting) and Auditory Arts (singing/rapping). I think these may be my favorite vocals yet on this song.

I've also entered a poetry reading in the Performing Arts category: https://steemit.com/dsound/@bennettitalia/20180305t065537512z-italent-contest-spoken-wordpoetry-reading-category-welcome-a-poem-by-bennett-italia-2018

Check out this super cool, creatively organized contest, hosted by @ivan.atman: https://steemit.com/art/@ivan.atman/italent-contest-auditions-have-started-or-45-steem-rewards-or-all-talents-or-auditory-arts-visual-arts-performing-arts

Something Awful

You're always gonna be that thing I want but can never truly have
And any tiny taste I take I know I'm being bad
Any little taste we take only makes us sad
But it's better than nothing
Better than nothing

So turn to me with that hungry hurt look in your eyes
We have gone so far beyond taking comfort in lies
But to feel my fingers on your skin one more time
Is better than nothing
It's better than nothing

And I love the taste of you
So I'll taste you 'til there's nothing left
I'll hold you to my body
Like a smoker with a cigarette
A junkie with a needle
I'll take what I can get
I don't need you
But I want you
Something awful

Something Awful

And if you leave today who knows when you'll be coming back?
It could be never and who wants that?
The drape of your hair, the quirk of your lips, only your eyes laugh
But it's better than nothing
It's better than nothing

'Cause I love the taste of you
So I'll taste you 'til there's nothing left
I'll hold you to my body
Like a smoker with a cigarette
A junkie with a needle
I'll take what I can get
I don't need you
But I want you
Something awful

Something awful

©2018 Bennett Italia

Sort:  

This post has received a 2.62 % upvote from @boomerang.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Thank you for participating in the iTalent Contest
AUDITORY ARTS CATEGORY

 
Don't forget you must vote from 5'th until 10'th of March if you want to be eligible, please check other contestants, if you don't vote for other artists/performers you get disqualified

PLEASE DO NOT VOTE BEFORE THE ANNOUNCEMENT
ON THE 5'th OF MARCH

good luck @bennettitalia

Wow @bennettitalia the song is incredible, I really like your style, I already told you once remember, I'll tell you what I really liked about the track, this awesome bucket drum samples, this awesome back vocals and how beautifully syncopated they are (just right), that flanger floating around and that crunchy guitar solo, the track also reminded me on a great band I once knew and forgot, they are called Eels

:D thanks so much @ivan.atman! So glad you liked it, I had a lot of fun with this mix. The Eels are awesome!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

You got a 1.68% upvote from @buildawhale courtesy of @bennettitalia!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60646.47
ETH 3379.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51