Step-by-step guide to transferring a domain from AWS to Google

in #it7 years ago (edited)

Hi,

I've recently moved my website domains from Amazon AWS to Google domains and wanted to share my experience with you.
I moved from AWS to Google because Google offers free email forwarding as part of their domain registration service, and access to what they call “G suite”. This allows me to create pretty email addresses like [email protected], that are automatically forwarded to my normal/private email address, allowing me to protect my private email address from spammers.

Later, I plan on using their full G suite, which is basically dedicated email, ‘unlimited’ cloud storage and Google Apps combined for less than €8/month. On a side note; you can save yourself 20% on the G suite thing if you sign up using the following link and voucher code: https://goo.gl/QhxnSe (44DGM7C7CL4ANVH, 4CMVAKJ9GEXLKYN).

Anyway, a quick summary of my experience moving the domain was that it was by far the easiest, quickest, and least scary domain transfer I’ve done to date. I also had no downtime during the transfer, because Google copied the AWS DNS settings for me 😊. The only thing to note is that Google don’t automatically opt you in for auto domain renewal – so have a look below on how to set that up.

While there are a lot of steps, they are pretty much self-explanatory - so I decided to include a bunch of screenshots instead of writing a lot of extra waffle. Please let me know if something doesn't make sense, so that I can add extra info.

Hopefully showing all the steps will give you the full picture of the entire process and therefore remove some of the stress that can come from moving a domain. If you’d like any more info on the process please leave a comment, and I’ll try get back to you as soon as possible.

If you like the article it would be greatly appreciated if you'd please share and upvote it.

Step 0 - Find out what Google has to offer:

Visit https://domains.google.com - They basically charge the same as Amazon, but give you access to more stuff.
Please note that you currently need to have a billing address in one of the following countries in order to use their service:
0a.jpg

Click on the I’d like to transfer, instead link that’s camouflaged in the middle of the page:
0.png

Step 1 - Input the domain name you want to transfer:

1.PNG

Step 2 - Go to AWS and disable Transfer lock:

Transfer lock helps prevents people from stealing your domains.
So you need to temporarily disable it in order to facilitate the transfer.

2a:

2.png

3a.PNG

2b - You'll get confirmations from Amazon and Google that the domain is now transferable:

6a.PNG

7.PNG

5.PNG

Step 3 - Generate the Authorization code:

3a:

8.PNG

3b:

9a.png

3c:

10a.png

Step 4 - Import your DNS settings:

11a.PNG

Step 5 - Start the actual transfer :

5a:

12.PNG

5b:

13a.PNG

5c - Enter your credit card details:

Sorry, I missed the screenshots here. They have a standard credit card details form you'll need to fill in.

5d:

14.jpg

5e:

15.PNG

5f - You'll get an email from Google - Allow the transfer via their link:

16.PNG
17.PNG

5g

18.PNG

5h - You'll get an email from Amazon - Allow the transfer via their link:

19.PNG

21.PNG

22.PNG

Step 6 - The transfer is complete!!

You can stop now if you don't care about auto renewal.
However I'd suggest that you continue with Step 7.
23a.PNG

Step 7 - Setting up auto renewal:

7a:

24a.PNG

7b:

25a.PNG

7c:

26a.PNG

7d:

27.PNG

Step 8 - Setup email forwarding:

8a:

28a.png

8b:

29a.png

Step 9 - Relax!

Yay! All done!
Time to relax :-)

If you liked the article it would be greatly appreciated if you'd please share and upvote it.

I'm experimenting with cryptocurrencies and blockchain in general at the moment, so any donations would also be greatly appreciated:
BTC - 166457cQoobtPumgGy2AvgGSfA7VcTJ6Tn
BTC.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61059.95
ETH 2677.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61