the prison of your own design

in #isolation4 years ago

Good morning, it’s just after 11am, chores done, breakfast made, coffee #2 on the go, in the visible distance another person coughs and instantly the word ‘corona’ flags up in my mind. I never thought I would consider the word corona any other way aside from with a slice of lime in summer but hey here we are, the future has a habit of hijacking the things you know to be true or fact for a period of time.

Everyone is dealing with something in isolation, either in the physical like at the moment with the pandemic or with their own lives in general, for me, I consider myself one of the lucky ones to have the emotional intelligence to regroup and re-evaluate, many do not instead waiting on a peer or the governing system to provide and in either of these times you can find yourself facing a blank slate.

Photo by Mitch Lensink on Unsplash

I took a good chunk of time in the last week to consider where I am, what I’m doing, what I should be doing, how to utilise my time better in the face of adversity, threats and general mental well being. I highly recommend it to everyone. Just switch it all off, reset, walk in a big open space and connect with the planet for a while (you’ve got plenty of time in the next few months to do it)

Just last week I heard the horrible story of a worker receiving a phone call that one of her daughters had hung herself, I’m not sure of the reasons or rational thought behind it. I’m sure the mother was devestated, I knew the lady to talk too a little and she had already had a rough life up into this point, I expect this is a pretty close place to being nearer to her own mental prison of life’s often cruel design.

Do we even have the ability to craft the way we live out a life outside of the education and the monetary trinkets of distraction economy anyway? At some point it’s gonna reach critical mass like now and everything you had planned just either get’s put on hold or you head off into another direction.

As much as I want to get back into the swing of things with my courses and designs I’ve found it extremely difficult to focus on those things because I mean who are my potential audience and customers anyway in times like this, who is really gonna sit down and learn something right about now?

When you understand the way that things often have a cascade effect and you see first hand how things look weakened and poorly strung together you start to then question the narrative.

I mean aside from the ‘government’ messaging take the way that the steemit deal and then the steem blockchain knock on effect happened, how that came together so quickly and changed direction and yet here we still are, a standoff waiting for the next person to decide the fate for the others — centralised or decentralised, limited access or a free for all.

Stay Frosty out there! ;)

Cheers,
__humble x

Sort:  

Warning! This user is on our black list, likely as a known plagiarist, spammer or ID thief. Please be cautious with this post!
If you believe this is an error, please chat with us in the #appeals channel in our discord.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73