You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Better Communication and Target-Aimed Debates Through Ism-Free Thinking (and a completely unrelated question about downflagging @dots)

in #isms8 years ago

I see your post as an extention of mine. I posted very similar things yesterday with the title "Be your own -ism". I wonder. Have I inspired your post?

https://steemit.com/life/@kyriacos/be-your-own-ism

Sort:  

Hey @kyriacos,

it is true, I saw your post and enjoyed the discussion it sparked, but at that point, I had already begun to write mine and had gathered momentum, so all that was left for me was to shift the weight a little to influence where it impacts, it was not within my power to completely bring that inertia to a complete halt anymore. So if it inspired me, then through space and back in time: I said the same, but with more words and in my mother's tongue almost five years ago, when the confusion of being called an Antisemitist was much fresher, and my words almost as sharp as those of @williambanks in your discussion.

Any sort of ism is actually a disease, or a weed with it's roots in ignorance.


Had we said essentially the same, I might have refrained from posting even, I have discarded longer comments in my time. But I also completed anyway because our approaches diverge a little and disagree a lot in one aspect: where you advertise an ism - individualism (or, to take it literally, that I adopt akareyonism while you raise your banner for kyriacosanism) - and someone else will maybe speak of the strength in numbers and favor collectivism (or steemitism, ha!), ism-free thinking acknowledges the values and dangers of both views and takes no sides. I'll obviously be a "collectivist" to many when "bad individualism" endangers the natural cohesion of the group, and an "individualist" when "bad collectivism" suffocates the freedom of the individual with groupthink and general sheepledom. In truth, I "am" neither. Pledging allegience to either ism can only lead to disaster or inconsistency. Consequently, it is favorable - at least when opinion- and decision-shaping as a society - to not communicate in "isms", but as concrete "wills", demands and supplies, likes and dislikes, fears and preferences, to make communication better. To make a technical drawing, if necessary -- all it takes not to rely on any "ism" as a crutch, motte-and-bailey defense or offensive charge.

A dumb example: I argue @dots should be allowed to dot its dots in #dots one dot at a time because there is no harm to anyone. It doesn't tag-spam, doesn't insult, doesn't plagiarize, doesn't troll, just posts a dot a day.

This is an akareyonism. Being of different opinion - calling for a vote brigade - is blatant, vile antiakareyonism.

Where does kyriacosanism come in here?

There is a clear overlap between antiakareyonists and fascists. Akareyonism is the only true antifascism. Akareyonists of the world, unite!

Are you with us, kyriacosanists?!?


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67551.75
ETH 3252.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65