Bank Holiday Board Action - Baptizing My New Winter Wetsuit 💦 PS: You Might Believe That I Don't Work At AllsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #islandlife7 years ago
A life of leisure and a life of laziness are two different things. - Benjamin Franklin

You totally got the point, Benjamin.

The fact that we've got another bank holiday on my Island today is really not my personal fault :-)

Spanish people simply know well how to perfectly organize working life: a nice and smooth bank holiday from time to time really do wonders with regards to the work-life-balance.

Here's how I spend my today's acquired free time!

@surfermarly tired but happy after her first surf session with the new (winter) suit

Bank holiday baptism 💦

Today's bank holiday is called 'San Rafael'. So thanks Rafael for the given free hours :-)

I'm not even religious, but these little breaks during a working week are definitely appreciated.

Not surprisingly the beach was FULL of people, especially locals who enjoyed the day with their families.

#islandlife is the worst enemy of depression.

Talking about bikinis... It was a great idea to baptize my new long, 3.2mm thick winter wetsuit today (not really!).

When I arrived at the beach, my car's thermometer showed 32 degrees Celsius outside temperature. Awesome, Marly! You totally hit the nail bringing that WINTER suit today, haha!

The sun burned like hell.

I was dying of heat when I forced myself into the neoprene. Today would have been another perfect day for my shorty. But anyways. My home is 20 driving minutes (one way) away from my local surf spot, so I was definitely not wanting to head back and bring the summer wear.

The solution to my heat problem: a nice bath in the Atlantic Ocean.

Even though today wasn't actually the best moment to try on the long suit, it was great to see that I made a very good choice.

The suit had a discount of 40% so I only paid €180 for it. My last one was much more expensive.

As I explained in one of my previous posts, the new one has one big advantage compared to my older one: it doesn't have this nasty long zipper in the back. Yes, it takes more time to get into the suit when it's dry, but in the water I felt that it's also much more comfortable.

To make a long story short: I had another amazing day!

Thank you, Rafael! Thank you, life! Thank you, steemit! :-)

Big hugs & kisses,

Marly -

Today's album 📷

Forcing myself into that winter suit

Finally refreshing my burning Body (if you ask yourself what's that strap I'm wearing at my neck: there were some diver eyeglasses swimming around and I picked them up)

Caught a nice backhand today...

...and of course a couple of lefts.


Thanks for your valuable time!
This blog was launched at the end of July 2016
aiming to provide stories for open-minded
people who enjoy living on the edge of their lives,
stepping out of comfort zones, going on adventure,
doing extreme sports and embracing the new.
Welcome to the too-much-energy-blog!

PS: Don't forget that this is a troll-free zone.

Original content. Quote found on pinterest.com.

Sort:  

looks like an epic day!

Surfing is always something I wanted to learn but out of all the sports I have tried it's the only board sport I can't get the hang of, i'd trade my snowboard skills for surf skills any day!

great photos, cool to see someone into the same kind of things as me here on steemit!

Followed and upvoted!

You have a new follower, too! :-)
Great blog of yours, I like outdoorsy people.
See you around!

Thanks a ton!
I can't wait to get established here
You do any other sports besides surf?
I mostly skydive and base jump but I'm getting a lot better at climbing and need to get off my butt and hit the slopes and learn to ski, there's a sport called speed riding that involves a tiny parachute and skiing off a mountain I am trying to get into, but this season i'm just focused on transferring from board to skis

I really didn't know you had a job! haha :p

So the suit was a success - is it coming to Lisbon? Landing in almost exactly 7 days time!

I'm trying to hide it. Jobs don't fit with my easy-going-surfer-life-image - LOL
Yes, of course - the suit will be with me in Portugal.
7 days... OMG! My heart just skipped a beat, I still need a lot of things to get done.

Nos vemos en nada!!! :-)

Good luck with the final prep, don't forget a winter coat! :)

Hasta luego!

Amazing pictures. Your new surfing costume is quite modern and gives you a whole new look. I love your attitude towrds the life. Change is very important in life to get succeed.

Thank you @rocksg!
I couldn't agree more. To be honest I couldn't be doing the very same thing every day. I 'need' the change to feel good, without pressure but just driven by life.

We are very similar in this regard. As I am artist so I always try to make new arts and experiments with the new things. Recently I got a new DSLR and since last five days I am click some good light shots and posted here. You will love those very much. It was the festival of light here in India and I tried to captured its beauty in my lens.

It looks like a beautiful day on the waves!!!


We are anticipating a little snow tomorrow. It'll melt in the morning, but it's a sign that our "real" Winter is right around the corner.

Snow?! OMG.
To be honest, I'd love to have a bit of that 'real winter' from time to time :-) I love being in the mountains and skiing for instance.

Enjoy the beauty of the snow!!!

Cool, so ein Feiertag - naja, wir können ja hier auch nicht klagen! :)
Viel Spass noch, Marly!

Wir haben hier ständig Feiertage. Es wäre vermessen sich darüber zu beklagen, aber das Business hängt natürlich dann immer ein wenig :-) So sind sie eben die Canarios. Alles sehr gechillt hier, haha
Viel Spaß auch Dir, @pipurilla - und lieben Dank fürs Vorbeischauen!

wonderful post @surfermarly. spanish people are leading a well disciplined life.
Let me come to know spanish special traditions.?

Well disciplined...? Hmmm....
We have uncountable traditions as in any other country. I could do a post about that one day :-)

Glad you found the water.

When I saw your first photo I was concerned you'd be surfing the sand dunes. :)

Looks like a great day.

I upvote all comments and replies on all of my posts to help my fellow Steemians earn Steemit rewards and gain more voting power. Consider doing the same to help other Steemians.

When I saw your first photo I was concerned you'd be surfing the sand dunes. :)

Haha, I guess I would need a different board then :-)

I upvote all comments and replies on all of my posts to help my fellow Steemians earn Steemit rewards and gain more voting power. Consider doing the same to help other Steemians.

It's interesting to read that statement and then see that you upvoted your own comment (instead of 'helping other fellow steemians to gain more VP'). That's not very coherent, just saying......;-)

Steem on!

Thanks for your comments. Appreciated.

I do upvote all the comments of others on all of my posts. It does help them. I'm not sure if there's an issue with upvoting your own? I haven't seen anything to say you can't or shouldn't.

In an election, I would vote for myself if I were running, wouldn't you? :)

When someone finds their true self and make it his/her profession, it feels like not working ever again yet having all the happiness in one's life. I liked reading this post. Very well written specially the lady in the photos looks very pretty. :)

Good job @surfermarly. Keep sharing more and stay awesome.

Steem On!

Thanks for your kind feedback, @ugetfunded! It's really appreciated.
Yeah well I guess I have found my place and my passion. Feels good :-)
See you around!

Nice post sharing
Have a nice day

wow beautiful weather, beautiful place and beautiful YOU
amazing picture because of you
1st picture in land is mind blowing
~^^~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67421.82
ETH 2623.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68