Iron Fist Season 1 😕

in #ironfist5 years ago

Continuing watching through the Netflix Marvel series, I next came to Iron Fist season 1. I don't honestly have a lot to say about it. I understand why people don't like it, but I feel mostly ambivalent about it. Everything seems just a little bit worse than the other shows in the series.

And I'm not even talking about the white savior thing or the overwrought wealthy American businessman moonlighting as a hero trope. I mean fundamentally the show seems flawed. The characters aren't likable, the acting and dialogue seem weird, and the fight scenes are awkward.

b69fc718e7e70eaf4deb496f7d8756598497d266r1-401-606v2_hq.jpg

Even the promo poster kinda looks like it sucks. But it's certainly not the worst thing I've ever watched. I do like that the lighting in this is brighter than Daredevil. And Colleen Wing is a good character, though I don't really like where they end up going with her.

The completist in me is glad I watched it, because it does tie in to the rest of the universe, but you can tell the creative team on this was different. It's just not great.

Sort:  

Sup Dork?!? Enjoy the Upvote!!!

I couldn't agree more with everything. It was one of those shows you let play in the background while you type up some steemit posts, fold laundry, vacuum, really do anything but actually watch.

I tried to pay attention so I wouldn't miss any tie-ins to other series, but yeah, I found myself drifting off a couple times. I don't think it was a coincidence that this one took me longer to get through than the others I've watched so far. Onward (and hopefully upward) to Defenders season 1!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65275.00
ETH 3569.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47