Irma: another dispatch from Daytona beach

in #irma7 years ago

It's currently 3:25am. Power went out about 7pm.
I can honestly say this is one of scariest nights of my whole life.
It was odd; when the power went the weather wasn't even that bad. We had some high winds and rain.... but that changed very quickly.
Right after the power went off transformers literally started exploding in bright blue balls of flame. It was spectacular. Then the whole house began to groan. The fireplace started whistling like a giant blowing on the top of the biggest coke bottle.
I heard things slamming into my house with smacks and booms.
I listened intently to the radio as tornado after tornado warning screeched through. I was honestly terrified. All i could think of was my 3 kids asleep in my room.
At one point as the news of the eye shifting my direction (no model predicted this) i began to laugh almost insanely.
I feel asleep at one point only to be awoken to something slamming into the boards protecting my Lightroom doors.
Then it was basically over.
Just winds and rain. Hot tropical rain.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63330.55
ETH 2645.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82