Irma-geddon?

in #irma7 years ago

To quote one of my students who was hoping our Monday exam would be cancelled:

"With the impending doom of hurricane Irma approaching, my mind has not been solely occupied with mathematics."

I couldn't agree more. A few weeks back I purchased a used 28' San Juan sailboat and have been frantically prepping it for the storm. I currently have it anchored off of the old Marine Stadium.
I bought a heavy danforth anchor and 250' of hefty chain. I took off the boom and sails, and duct taped everything shut that I possibly could. I took the cushions so that we can use them for sleeping pads in the days to come. It is a lot of work, accompanied by a lot of prayer. Have you seen pictures of what happens to boats in 180mph+ winds?

This picture was taken during the eye of the storm in the British Virgin Islands. In contrast, here are some pictures I took yesterday while prepping the boat:






You'd never expect that a cat 5 hurricane was just 48 hours away!

Having done all that I can to prep the boat, today will be spent prepping the apartment and kiteboarding (once the wind has picked up a bit). I'll try to post some pictures or video later of the kiting session.

Caribbean Islands, we're praying for you. God have mercy on us all, and steemit, I'll see you on the other side!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57883.59
ETH 3070.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34