Come Listen to the Irish Language

in #irish8 years ago (edited)

Rinne mé cúpla físeáin ag caint faoin teanga Gaeilge. Ná bac, tá na fotheidil san áireamh!

I made a couple of videos about the Irish language. Don't worry, the subtitles are included!



Fliuch = Wet

Learn Irish here:

Go raibh maith agaibh! Tá tú i mo chroi daoine steemit <3

Sort:  

Irish with a bottle of whisky? That's practically a living cliche!

Loved hearing the language though!

Funny thing about WHISKEY in Irish.

The Irish translation for whiskey is 'uisce beatha' (pronounced ishka bahha)

Uisce means water
Beatha means life!

I like that there' no word for yes or no. Very cool.

You were talking about @beanz video. There is no word for yes or no in her language. Watch her video and you'll understand. Hmm, how did that end up in these comments? We were talking in chat when I posted that.

Yes, I asked her in chat later and before she answered I had already figured out (in part thx to l0k1) that they just didn't have any exact shortcut to negate things... so it's not quite the way that I had imagined :p

I love the language but there's a bit of the back of the throat thing that I could never quite get unless I was really paying attention to phonetically singing the language. Great fun to watch. I had my eyes on the bottle of Jack the entire time! Hahaha

why haven't you done more on speaking irish?
I would love to learn more then "Fliuch = Wet"
Don't get me wrong I like that I know how to say wet now but how would I ask it like a question?
like if I was asking someone aftercoming in from outside if they were wet?
Like "are you wet"? but in irish?
:O

Are you wet? = An bhfuil tú fliuch?

Pronounced: On will too fluck?

I will do another soon. Did you enjoy the poem about us?

I think there was a lot of honesty in it.
so if "fliuch" is wet then "An bhfuil tu" is are you?
when you do more on speaking irish I hopefully see them. I would enjoy learning more.

P.S.
Are you wet sounds a lot like wanting to fck.
:O
almost german it I was pretending I could speak it.

so what did you think about the poem? O.o

EDIT:
bhf is like a wh sound in English?

Yes bhf is pronounced like w. The pronunciations is the hardest part of learning the language. If people are interested I will be sure to share more with you.

Cool, if you make more posts about it let me know ill try to check them out.

What a beautiful @beanz. I liked. :)

I just discovered that you were a girl and Irish! :)

Your country is definitely on my to-do list of places to visit as soon as I can!

Never thought of learning Irish. I speak Korean and English and learning Spanish.

Up voted and your up voting my contents will be appreciated. Followed.

Thanks and good day!

Be Free Always, All Ways!

I can fall in love with that...... no problem

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60970.82
ETH 2602.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65