Ireland - a walk from Doolin to Moher

in #ireland7 years ago

Hello fellow Steemians,

if you ever find yourself around the Cliffs of Moher, I highly recommend you do not take the standard visitors tour to Moher. Instead you should think about going to Doolin by bus, or car and walking all the way up to those cliffs. Since this walk was suggested to me by an Irish Bohdan/Banjo street musician, who knew a thing or two about Ireland, I thought I could share the experience, so here we go :

As already stated I started my walk off in Doolin. When you start walking towards the cliffs there is a very welcoming sign on the way giving you lots of comfort.

1_Danger.jpg

Looking to my left and right I saw some pretty chilled cows looking back at me, so I thought it couldn't be that dangerous. It was, as to be expected of Ireland, yet another cloudy day, but seeing those cliffs on the horizon finally got me going.

2_Start.jpg

During my hike I only encountered very few people, often leaving me alone with a beautiful landscape. Also, this made it easier for me to start mooing with some fellow cows along the way... During the walk it is also mentionable that there are few to no fences when having the cliffs to your right, so you can really get to the edge.

3_FirstView.jpg
4_SecondView.jpg

The higher I walked the more impressive the cliffs were becoming. It was also nice to see that I - an everyday computer guy with the phyiscal condition of a 60 year old - was able to take the whole walk, so yay me.

5_ThirdView.jpg

I will not post all picture, because I think showing it all takes away a bit of the magic. You can expect to see way more cows and horses along the way and for me there were lots of enjoyable sights to see. Especially in the end the cloudy weather actually gave way to a beautiful picture.

6_FourthView.jpg

The best part about the walk was the solitude, once I arrived closer to the visitors point people were starting to stack up and the noise got quite loud.

7_VisitorCentre.jpg

So all in all I'd really like to recommend this walk. In the end you arrive at the visitor's centre of the Cliffs of Moher from where you can take public transportation back to Limmerick, or Galway. My story ended by finding a new spanish friend waiting for his bus with whom I drank lots of Guiness getting back to Galway.

I hope you liked my impressions of that hike and would like to thank you for reading my post.

If you have any questions about the walk, or maybe some Irish spots I am more than willing to answer them.

See you next time,
Thomas

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67706.36
ETH 2616.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72