Pawned for Fame

in #iplay6 years ago (edited)

sadness-3218845__480.jpg

Stella Johnson was born into the family of Mark Johnson a very famous and rich business tycoon and every thing good that life has to offer was at stella’s beck and call since she was a child. Stella who is now a very reputable lawyer has had to live her life according to her father's wish. Stella had just arrive after getting an urgent call from her father to come back home.
Mr Johnson - welcome dear, hope you had a lovely trip.
Stella - Yes dad, I did. How are you and mom doing?
Mr Johnson - As you can see I am doing very good and your mother has gone on a business trip.
Stella - Dad I hope all is well, because your call sounded really urgent.
Mr Johnson- Yes dear, everything is fine.i just wanted to give you a very good news.
Stella - wow!!! Let me guess, you have won another mega contract.
Mr Johnson - You know if that was the case I would have broken the news to you over the phone.
Stella - so what could this be about dad. Am really curious to know.
Mr Johnson - I spoke to Hon.Victor and he has accepted our proposal for his son to marry my only daughter.
Stella - Dad this must be a joke.
Mr Johnson looking a bit confused couldn't understand why Stella wasn't happy about the news.
Mr Johnson - My daughter this would really change our families fortune for the best. Imagine the two companies working hand in hand with each other.
Stella getting really angry with her dad said in an outburst.
Stella - Dad this is so unfair, I have done everything you and mom wanted since I was a child. I have gone to the schools you chose. I wanted to study photography but for your sake I became a lawyer. Till today I have lived my life for you and the pride of this family.
Mr Johnson - This is not a request Stella.
Stella - I am sorry dad, I can't obey you this time.
Mr Johnson - This is my decision and you must respect it because I am your father.
Stella couldn't fight back the tears as she knew she couldn't go against her parents.she agreed to the arranged marriage between herself and Hon.Victor’s son.
Two years passed and Stella endured a bitter marriage, Stella was usually left alone while Peter her husband went to club and drank himself to stupor, beating and sexually abused her each time she refused him and all her effort to appeal to her parent to break off the marriage was fruitless.
This faithful day something tragic happened as Mr Johnsons phone rang
Gateman - Please am I speaking to Mr johnson
Mr Johnson - Yes, and you are?
Gateman - Please sir hurry down here, Your daughter has taken poison.
Mr Johnson - what!!! Where!!! How!! Unable to contain the shock as he called out his wife.
Mr Johnson and his wife arrived at Peter’s apartment only to find their daughter lying lifeless on the ground as the Gateman handed over the note she had dropped behind to them.
Dad, if you are reading this it's probably because I felt death is the best way to ease my pain. You and mom made me a pawn in your pursuit for wealth and fame that I never received the love of a father and mother. I hope this time my voice is heard and my pain is felt. Your lovely daughter, Stella.
Mr Johnson - am finished. Was all he could say as he collapsed
THE END

This is an entry for the iplay contest. See original post here
https://steemit.com/contest/@jochi/iplay-welcome-to-week-4-a-challenge-where-you-play-for-10-sbd-prize-week-3-winners

Image source - http://pixabay.com

Sort:  

Nice story, a wonderful one indeed.
who is Philip?

Phillip - wow!!! Let me guess, you have won another mega contract.

I guess this is Mr. Johnson talking here and not Stella,

Stella - Yes dear, everything is fine.i just wanted to give you a very good news.

Thank you so much. I have made the corrections

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63989.15
ETH 2749.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66