My 4 daily devices – Half the price of a single iPhone X

in #iphone6 years ago

Today I want to talk you about my main 4 devices: LG G6, Cube Mix Plus, Amazfit Sport Watch & Kindle Paperwatch.
You’ll probably know about some of them, they’re not a top of the line. But they have a great quality\price ratio. And altogether they cost almost half the price of the new iPhone X.

LG G6 – My Smartphone

YDXJ0054.JPG

I own it since April 2017

Presented a year ago, it was the first with a 18:9 borderless display. It costed me 349€, and it has always worked flawlessly. The screen is great and it’s flat (I hate rounded screens like the one of S8) since it’s a lot easier to install a screen protector.
The other main feature of this phone are the cameras: they are 2, one is normal and one is wide. They’re the best combo: sometimes you need a wide camera to shoot landscape photos or near objects. You don’t need a second camera for bokeh effect, for zoom or for black &white. You can do it with software (try GCam on XDA!).
It’s waterproof, it has Type-C USB, 3300mAh battery, great fingerprint sensor on the back, and it’s made of glass and aluminum.
I use it with Spigen screen protector & cover. Bear in mind that I am always very careful with my devices, I try to protect them the best as I can, in order to resell with a good price in the future. Bear in mind that, to repair the back glass of an iPhone X you need $549. This phone costs $349.
Yes, there is the One Plus 5T at $499, that is an overall better phone thanks to its speed, screen and last updates. But you can save $150 and gain waterproof, a better secondary camera and a microSD slot.
You don’t need to spend more than $400 or $500 for a top-of-the-line smartphone.

Cube Mix Plus – my 2-in-1 PC

20863224_1531784953546658_4481898981015415136_o.jpg

Bought it from Banggood.com

I love Windows tablets and 2-in-1 PCs, but you have to spend $250 for a cheap 2-in-1, or you’re forced to spend more than $700. There is no compromise.
But in China, there is. Nobody will know this tablet, I paid it $280 (+$20 for the keyboard).
This tablet has everything I need. 10,1-inch fullHD display with a digitizer (you can use Wacom pen as Galaxy Note series), a great CPU (a core M3, the mobile variant of Core i3), 4GB of RAM and 128GB of SSD.
It’s perfect for my use: web browsing, videos, gaming. I can also charge it with my powerbank thanks to its USB Type C, but the battery lasts 6 hours.
Yeah, the screen won’t be bright, the sound won’t be loud, it is a bit heavy and thick, but it’s the best you can afford for $280. You can do everything with it. It’s great you can remove the keyboard when you don’t need it.

With $650 we already have a PC and a smartphone.

Amazfit Pace – My Smartwach

Do you like the metallic strap?

Made in China by Xiaomi, I paid it $70 and it’s great in the key-features I want from a smartwach: battery and visibility under sunlight. The more light there is, the brighter the screen will be, thanks to its trans-reflective screen. It lasts for 5 days and it has GPS so it’s also a great sportwatch. You can see al the notifications from your smartphone even if you can’t answer them. It’s perfect for me (now there is also the Amazfit Bip that it’s even better for the price\quality ratio).

Kindle Paperwhite – my Ebook Reader

IMG_20180215_153541.jpg

My books are obviously about racing!

Recently, I’ve gotten back into reading after years, and I wanted an eBook reader to read anywhere. I often read at night so I need a screen with brightness; outside, thanks to its screen, it will be very comfortable to read. Great, light, thin. A must for readers.

Conclusion

Now, I spent $750 for 4, FOUR, totally different devices.
New iPhone X costs $1350, and it’s just a smartphone. At half of the price I have a smartphone, a smartwatch, a PC, an eBook Reader. You don’t need much else these days. With the rest of the money you could also buy a 4K TV.
I think that in 2017 the price of technology increased too much. There aren’t 1000 dollars between Apple’s phone and my G6. They are too much. Apple decides the price, people buy it, other companies have to increase the price of their products.
We should seek for alternatives, not for fashion. Everybody is free to spend their money as they wish, that’s not the point.
There must be more information before a purchase, there aren’t only Samsung and Apple. Huawei started well but now they have so many low-end products together with its Honor, only creating confusion, or their top of the line cost too much.
The point is: when will we say “enough”? How much people will spend to have the last iPhone?
How much can we control the situation?

Sort:  

you made very good choices, users often discriminate the devices for not costing thousands of dollars

Congratulations @manuzzo! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @manuzzo! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62832.46
ETH 3374.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48