WTF is IOTA and why is it #7?

in #iota7 years ago (edited)

Seriously, I've only seen the name come up once on Steemit and now from one day to another #7 by market cap?

I really don't understand this because this project doesn't even have a functional, a responsive website. Like I couldn't find a single download for this and it's supposed to be valued at over one billion?

This is a joke! How does this make any sense? If there is no download then this project is at best an idea, I didn't even see any links to discussion rooms or anything like that. Now I see the Slack and I am tempted to join, if anything to ask what coinmarketcap requires to list a cryptocurrency. I might want to create my very own walletless asset and make it visible to investors over projects that have been running for years...

Have we lost our minds to value an idea at 1.4 billion?

Sort:  

I thought it strange too, I went to bed late and it wasn't there. I woke up at like 9:00 am and checked and some strange coin is there. Very, very odd. I'm staying a 10 foot pole length away.

Been awake all this time, it just very recently showed up. I think it's wise to wait it out. We got plenty of good ideas, now we just need applications.

Odd? So what did you my brother,when you know that is odd.

Hahaha. Really funny. Seems to be a full insider thing. I can not stop to laugh :-)

I bought some last March for about 30x less price in a Slack chatroom that I was able to join effortlessly via a link. No insider trading other than the very public info on bitcointalk and various other places that have discussed this coin for years.

This project has been around for years and is completely different from blockchain tech. The exchange date was also posted a few days ago. Everything about the project has been quite transparent to anyone who cared to look at it.

Oh ok. Thank you very much for the update. Really missed that one.

Market cap is not a suitable measurement. I could launch Tweety coin with a billion zillion coins premined and sell my counter ego one for $1.

Boom, #1 in market cap.

I guess what I'm really concerned about is how just about any project can get a hype from the spotlight on that popular site and do nothing to deserve the attention.

Is there any way to see who is holding the coins? There was a scam coin 1337 last Friday with such a page. Everyone piled in on Friday night before the "next halving." Price went up 150% that day, and then the large whales sold their holdings. I wouldn't want to invest in anything where I entity hold a third of the asset.

I see some discussion rooms upon deeper examination, you may get some people to disclose their identities there but I doubt it.

Lol, I had this same experience of wondering wtf "IOTA" is

I think the reason iota is so highly valued is because it uses a directed acyclic graph instead of a blockchain. (zero fees!) (Also check out #33 on coinmarketcap ByteBall which does the same thing.)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61823.88
ETH 2390.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57