A word of caution about investing in IOTA

in #iota7 years ago (edited)

First of all, please don't take this as an investment advice because i'm just a mere crypto hobbyist but I did want to share with the world some news stories about IOTA that I have received.

I've seen a lot of excitement around IOTA's rise to the top 5 and having worked in the IoT industry before, I was curious to learn more about it and invest in it as well as the price was within my reach to buy a few whole coins but the more I read about it, the more I feel that the IOTA team still have a lot to prove to gain public trust.

Refer to this tweet. I am not sure about the authors credentials but doing some research on my own, the content of this tweet seems legit.

iota.jpg

https://twitter.com/KyleSamani/status/937886293803065345

Also when a respected figure in the crypto community like Charlie Lee tweets about it, I would listen and like he says i'm ready to be convinced otherwise as well

https://twitter.com/SatoshiLite/status/939687612721250304

Going back to the context from the first tweet.

1> If you are worried about open sourcing your content, close your source. Go in the direction of Bitcoin Gold. Don't try to get the best of both worlds when there is no straight way that you can.
2> Introducing a serious vulnerability for the fear of getting copied has to be the stupidest reason I have heard. You are putting millions of customers money at stake and if someone else does fork it, the devs are usually smart enough to run preliminary tests to make sure everything works.
3> And yes, I doubt if doing some business with Microsoft classifies it as "partnership"

Again these are my views from my personal research. Do your own research before you buy any cryptos.

Sort:  

KyleSamani Kyle Samani tweeted @ 05 Dec 2017 - 03:28 UTC

So a number of LPs asked me about IOTA today. My response: https://t.co/TT81iEbSUg

SatoshiLite Charlie Lee [LTC] tweeted @ 10 Dec 2017 - 02:46 UTC

Is IOTA just hype or is there real value in Tangle? I've only heard bad things like centralized with coordinators a… twitter.com/i/web/status/9…

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62836.52
ETH 2558.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72