You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: IOTA Network... something amazing right?! is IT? It's IOTA! =)

in #iota7 years ago (edited)

"an adoption of trust between "things" that predominantly have been called the hardest word I could ever thought, neighbours (instead of nodes)!"
This is wrong ;) You don't trust anyone when you run a full node in IOTA. All you need the neighbours for is to keep in sync with the network. It's like with Bitcoin and it's P2P network. Furthermore, if you don't want to run a full node, you can run a light node and connect to a server running the IOTA IRI. Note that when doing that, your SEED aka Password never ever leaves you PC. For more detailed information: www.iotasupport.com

Sort:  

Ok. I have to be more clear there. I was referring to the IP.
EDIT: Fixed!

Great discussion. Please comment more!

Still, the word "trust" doesn't fit. Would you say you "trust" BTC nodes when you sync up with the BTC Blockchain? Probably not

So if the node is effectively sending you information, I am with the opinion that you are trusting it. Even if the information is cryptography secure. So yes too for BTC or any other p2p connection where you know the source and destination of the communication. But I got what you mean with it. I think I see the point. I will try to rephrase I want to say.

EDIT: Done.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 60535.47
ETH 2656.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46