You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Noob's 9-step guide to transfer IOTA from Bitfinex to your Own Wallet like a fly / How to set up your latest IOTA wallet in 7 steps easily?

in #iota7 years ago

Multiple inaccuracies: first of all, the text is a checksum, the VBW just happens to be the checksum for your seed. Secondly, you don't have 15 IOTA, you have 15 million IOTA. Third of all, you don't have to make the seed manually by typing; you can make your seed using a separate seed generator. In fast, making the seed by hand is probably a bad idea.

Sort:  

That's why it is a noob's guide. What is a checksum basically? Is it important? Is the checksum different for each user? The new version is missing a seed generator.

No, the problem is people will be confused when their checksum doesn't say VBW and think that they did something wrong. Also ,I know there's no seed generator in the new version, but I am suggesting using a seperate seed generator. The MIOTA / IOTA thing does nothing but confuse noobs further about how much an IOTA actually is.

You are right. I didn't know what the checksum does at the time of posting. Now, it is clear to me. I just typed and made my 81 character key. I don't know what a separate seed generator does other than making it easier but you need to download (?) something, would better avoid it. I have edited the document.

Ok, I did further reading. The checksum you need to remember and that helps you to check if your seed entered is correct. Checksum is 3 character long.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59439.79
ETH 2290.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48