Week 2 - Swift Scripting with Marathon

in #ios7 years ago (edited)

So, I stumbled upon some posts about scripting with swift, which lead me to Jhon Sundell's talk about Marathon.

While I certainly should be doing other things than playing around with this, I could not resist. So only one week in my Swift training I start to procrastinate. ;)

It took me quite some time to get Marathon up and running, since I had some problems with the swift tool versioning. í To make things short: You will have to install Marathon via SPM. The version on brew seems not to be up to date. (Just this week there were some changes though I'm not sure if this fixed the problem.)

You can find the details on how everything works on his GitHub Readme.

https://github.com/JohnSundell/Marathon

And here are some example scripts:

https://github.com/JohnSundell/Marathon-Examples

Meanwhile my new book is helping me with revisiting the basic as planned. The book is not as easy to understand as the Stanford class however, it is much easier to look something up! Maybe I should look for a book by Paul Hegarty.

I also did subscribe to all the known swift / developer podcasts. Right now, I have fun listening to them, but I feel it is more distracting then helping at the moment. Maybe this is something I should do a bit later on my journey.

For next week I plan on reading up more on MVC. While I thought I understood the concept, I found it is hard to start a new project and know what to put were.
I started on thinking about a project for the next two months and while it's a small and simple thing, I had problems to fit it into the MVC architecture.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57028.16
ETH 2358.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40