Week 1 Concentration

in #ios7 years ago (edited)

The first smaller Project:

Since the first month in 2018 is already over, there is only one left for my first project. Luckily, I did already start with something. 😄 This project will be about the basics of Swift.
Right now, my favorite source for learning swift is Stanford's CS193P.
Here I started at the very beginning with the first assignment and demo app: Concentration.
And I love it!

To my mind, this course is a must for everyone who wants to learn Swift. However, it is in a fast pace. I am happy to be able to view it on Itunes-U instead of taking the class in person. 😁
I finished the basic functionalities and think I'm going to stop here. There is already so much to remember.

Lessons Learned:

Since there is so much to learn, here is only a small overview of what I have done throughout this first app.

  • Private/Public/…
  • The lazy Property
  • Property Observers
  • Classes vs. Structs
  • Static Variables/Functions…
  • MVC
  • Extensions
  • Protocols: Hashable(Equatable)…(Comparable)
  • Enums
  • Optionals
  • ...so much more

In the month to come I will try and put these lessons into practice and deepen my understanding.

I will also start to write down everything important on each topic, so I can look it up later if needed. Sure, there are enough resources out there that provide exactly that, but I feel like I will understand the concept better, If I write it down for myself.

I also got a new Book with 1304 pages to read…So there should be enough to do in February.

You can find the concentration app on my Github. Mind that this was done by Paul Hegarty. The courses go further than this state, and there were some assignments to add to the app. Anyhow, this is what I got so far.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56836.82
ETH 2341.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41